Home » State News » Final list of candidates for the second phase of polling in Odisha, scheduled for May 20, has been announced

Final list of candidates for the second phase of polling in Odisha, scheduled for May 20, has been announced

Bhubaneswar:11/5/24: The final list of candidates for the second phase of polling in Odisha, scheduled for May 20, has been announced. The election will see 40 candidates vying for 5 Lok Sabha seats and 265 candidates contesting 35 assembly seats.

The Chief Electoral Officer, after verification and withdrawal of nominations, confirmed the final number of candidates. The Bargarh Lok Sabha seat will see 7 candidates, Sundargarh will have 8, Bolangir will have 10 candidates, Aska to have 7 whereas Kandhamal will have 8 candidates for the Lok Sabha seat. One candidate has withdrawn his nomination papers in Kandhamal Lok Sabha seat and 6 nomination papers have been rejected across the 5 Lok Sabha seats.

Earlier, 47 candidates have submitted 87 nomination papers. After verification and withdrawal, 40 candidates remained for the Lok Sabha seats. Voting is also going to be conducted in 35 Assembly seats under these 5 Lok Sabha seats.

This is the second phase of polling in Odisha while it will be conducted as the fifth phase of the elections, which is going to be held on 20th. For the 35 assembly seats, 298 candidates submitted their nomination papers. After verification, 23 nomination papers were rejected, and 10 candidates withdrew their nominations, leaving 265 candidates in the fray.

In the Padmapur seat, 7 candidates are contesting. In Bijepur, there are 4 candidates. Bargarh has 9 candidates, while Atabira has 5 candidates. Bhatli has 7 candidates, and Brajrajnagar has 9 candidates. Jharsuguda, Talasara, and Sundergarh each have 8 candidates. Birmitrapur has 13 candidates, Raghunathpalli has 8 candidates, and Rourkela has 11 candidates. Rajgangpur has 6 candidates, Bonai has 10 candidates, and Birmaharajpur has 7 candidates. Sonepur, Loisingha, Patnagarh, Bolangir, and Titilagarh each have 8, 7, 8, 6, and 6 candidates respectively.

In addition to the Chief Minister, there are 11 candidates in the field. Baliguda has 5 candidates, G. Udayagiri has 8 candidates, and Pulbani has 9 candidates. Kantamal, Boudh, and Daspalla each have 6 candidates. Bhanjnagar has 8 candidates, Polsara has 9 candidates, and Kabisuryanagar has 10 candidates. Khalikote has 3 candidates, Aska has 6 candidates, and Sorada has 7 candidates. Sankhemundi and the Chief Minister’s constituency, Hinjili will have 10 candidates respectively.

The assembly seats will see a varied number of candidates, with the highest being 13 in Birmitrapur and the lowest being 3 in Khalikote.1

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

A Bhumiputra will rule the land of Utkala Bhumi, not a Tamil babu:Amit Shah

Sambalpur:21/5/24: Union Home Minister Amit Shah Tuesday reached Sambalpur for BJP’s Lok Sabha poll campaign in Odisha. Launching a direct attack on the 25-year rule of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik ...