Home » National » Chief Electoral Officer Briefs On Curtailed Polling Hours In LWE-Hit Segments, Voters Count

Chief Electoral Officer Briefs On Curtailed Polling Hours In LWE-Hit Segments, Voters Count

Bhubaneswar: 18/4/24:With notification issued for the first phase election in Odisha, State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nikunja Bihari Dhal on Thursday said that political parties have been advised against taking out huge rallies during filing of nominations given the heatwave conditions

Briefing the media after a meeting, Dhal said that they have also been asked to follow the heatwave advisory during campaigning. “The filing of nominations four parliamentary- Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Koraput and Berhampur- constituencies and 28 Assembly seats will continue till April 25. While the nomination papers will be scrutinized on April 26, candidates can withdraw their nomination papers till April 29,” he said.

Three observers have been appointed for polling in these constituencies on May 13. “In addition to 7,289 polling stations, 14 auxiliary voting booths will be established where the voters count exceeds 1,500,” he said.

The CEO further said that there are more female voters (31,87,771) compared to male (30,96,243) in these four Lok Sabha constituencies. Among the total 62,84649 voters, 635 are transgender. “While 2.78% voters are in the 18-19 years age group, 23.34% are in 20-29 years age group,” he said.

While voting booths will be open from 7 am to 6 pm, there will be two hours of less polling time in Left wing extremism-affected assembly segments. “These include 68 polling booths in two constituencies in Nuapada district, Lanjigarh assembly segment, 19 polling stations at Narla, 62 polling stations in Nabarangpur, Laxmipur and Pottangi assembly seats, and Mohana in Gajapati,” he said.

He added that polling in Kotpad and Koraput, Malkangiri, Rayagada and other seats in Gajapati and Nuadapa districts will end at 5 pm.

Parliamentary Constituencies & Polling Hours


Dhal said that the EC has so far received 3,873 complaints through C-Vigil app for model code of conduct violations and 3,854 of these have been disposed of so far. “We have received maximum complaints from Puri, Khurda, Cuttack, Jajpur, Ganjam, Kandhamal and Mayurbhanj districts. Most of those complaints (around 2,700) are regarding posters and banners.”

He further informed that inducements valued at Rs 118.65 crore have been sized since March 1. “The enforcement agencies have seized Rs 2.7 crore in cash, liquor valued at Rs 18.19 crore, drugs and narcotics worth Rs 43.69 crore, precious metals worth Rs 7.17 crore, and freebies and other items worth 47.44 crore between March 1 and April 17,” he added.


About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

A Bhumiputra will rule the land of Utkala Bhumi, not a Tamil babu:Amit Shah

Sambalpur:21/5/24: Union Home Minister Amit Shah Tuesday reached Sambalpur for BJP’s Lok Sabha poll campaign in Odisha. Launching a direct attack on the 25-year rule of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik ...