Home » National » 92 Artists selected for Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for the Years 2022 & 2023

92 Artists selected for Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for the Years 2022 & 2023

The General Council of Sangeet Natak Akademi, the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, New Delhi, at its meeting held on 21 and 22 February 2024 at New Delhi unanimously elected six (6) eminent personalities in the field of performing arts as Akademi Fellows (Akademi Ratna).  The Fellowship of the Akademi is a most prestigious and rare honour, which is restricted to 40 at any given time.

The General Council also selected ninety-two (92) artists from the fields of Music, Dance, Theatre, Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/ Theatre, Puppetry and Overall contribution/scholarship in the Performing Arts for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for the years 2022 & 2023.

The Fellows and Awardees so selected represent the nation as a whole and belong to different States and Union Territories. Besides, these eminent artists cover the entire gamut of performing arts forms expressed in music, dance, drama, folk & tribal art, puppetry and allied theatre art forms etc.

The General Council of the Akademi has also selected 80 young artists for Sangeet Natak Akademi Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar for the years 2022 and 2023. The Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar carries a purse money of Rs. 25,000/- (Rupees Twenty Five Thousand Only) besides a Tamrapatra and Angavastram. The Chairman, Sangeet Natak Akademi will confer these awards in a special ceremony.

The Akademi Awards have been conferred since 1952. These honours not only symbolize the highest standard of excellence and achievement but also recognize sustained individual work and contribution. The honour of Akademi Fellow carries a purse money of Rs.3, 00, 000/- (Rupees three lakhs) while the Akademi Award carries a purse money of Rs. 1,00,000/- (Rupees one lakh), besides a Tamrapatra and Angavastram.

The Hon’ble President of India will confer the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships and Awards in a special investiture ceremony

Click for the list of fellows and Awardees-

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Srimandir Servitor Demands For Opening Of Four Doors Of Temple

Puri:20/4/24: In the first meeting of the Ratha Yatra Coordination Committee, senior servitor Damodar Mahasuar raised the issue of opening the four doors of Srimandir on Saturday. He demanded all ...