Home » Environment » National Road Safety Short Film Festival, 2023 award ceremony was held in Bhubaneswar

National Road Safety Short Film Festival, 2023 award ceremony was held in Bhubaneswar

Bhubaneswar:12/  12/23: The award ceremony of the National Road Safety Short Film Festival, 2023 was held in Bhubaneswar on Tuesday. ‘BISWASTA SATHI’, a film based on a bond of dogs and human beings, directed by Amrutanshu Mohapatra from Balasore won the best film in the Odia category.

‘IF’ directed by Sreenath S from Kerala received the best film award in the Non-Odia category.  Both the top films spread the message about the importance of wearing helmets. They were felicitated by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who graced the occasion as the Chief Guest.

Speaking on the occasion, CM Patnaik said, “Every life is precious. Road safety is a high-priority area for our Government. Short Films are effective tools of communication for spreading the message of Road Safety. The first edition of the film festival was appreciated by the Supreme Court Committee on Road Safety and was adjudged as one of the best practices for Road Safety awareness.”

Patnaik said, “I hope these films will be screened throughout the state and create awareness about road safety. Together we can build a safer Odisha. My heartfelt gratitude to all the citizens for making it a people’s movement.”

He further informed other than Odisha there were entries from Punjab, Maharashtra, Kerala, Assam, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal. “I am happy to learn that this year students from our neighbouring countries which include Nepal, Bangladesh and Kenya who are studying in Bhubaneswar have also sent films for the festival.”

Earlier in her address, Smt. Tukuni Sahu, Commerce & Transport Minister said, “What better way to spread the message of Road Safety than through the unlimited potential of visual storytelling? Odisha is known for zero casualties during natural calamities. Under the guidance of the Hon’ble Chief Minister, we will work towards making roads safer in the state.”

May be an image of 3 people and dais

Among others, Smt. Usha Padhee, Principal Secretary, Commerce & Transport, Shri ArunBothra, Addl. DG, CID-CB &CMD, CRUT and Shri Amitabh Thakur, Transport Commissioner, Odisha were present at the closing ceremony.

Winners were selected by a judging panel of film industry professionals and non-industry professionals, luminaries from different walks of life. During the closing ceremony, all the jury members of the festival were also felicitated. The 42 shortlisted films were screened at Berhampur, Sambalpur and Angul in the first week of December. All the shows went houseful with the audience giving a rousing response to the festival. More than 5000 students, and citizens saw the movies in these three cities.

This year a total of 247 entries were received in 7 languages from 8 states. Filmmakers, amateur film enthusiasts and students submitted entries in the form of documentary, experimental, narrative, fiction, non-fiction and animation formats. This includes 8 animation films and 7 silent films. Apart from the Odia language, there were quite a few entries in the Santhali language from tribal belts of the State.

The festival was organised to raise awareness about road safety issues and promote increased engagement in road safety cooperation in the state of Odisha as well as across the nation to reduce road accidents and fatalities related to it.

The best film in both Odia and non-Odia categories got a cash award of Rs 1 lakh each, the first runner-up got Rs 80,000 and the second runner-up received Rs 60,000. The best director, best music, cinematography, and best actor/actress got Rs 25,000 each in both categories.

List of Awardees

Best Film (Odia)

  • Winner- BISWASTA SATHI, Balasore, Director & Screenplay: AmrutanshuMohapatra – Rs. 1,00,000
  • First Runner Up- HEY PRABHU, Bhubaneswar, Digital Sketch, Concept, Script & Direction: Eureka Apta – Rs. 80,000
  • Second Runner Up- SLATE, BalasoreStory, Screenplay & Direction: ManmayDey- Rs. 60,000

Best Film (Non-Odia)

  • Winner: IF, Kerela, Director & Writer: Sreenath S – 1, 00,000
  • First Runner up: WHAT THE HELMET, Pune, Director & Writer: ShubhamKishorPandav- 80,000
  • Second Runner Up: HELMET SILENT, Nabarangpur, Director: Bulu Kumar – 60,000

Individual awards (Odia Category)

  • Best Cinematography – SMRUTI MAYEE SETHI, Shortcut – Bhubaneswar -25, 000
  • Best Music-ANADI POHAN, CHOICE (MADHAV JHA)–Bhubaneswar- 25, 000
  • Best Direction- AYUSHMAN BADAPANDA, Not Out, Cuttack- 25, 000
  • Best Acting- RAJKISHOR DURGA, Charlie, Kalahandi&PAPU POM POM, Smart Father – Bhubaneswar- 25, 000

Individual awards (Non-Odia Category)

  • Best Cinematography – VIVEK VIJAYAN, If –Kerala -25, 000
  • Best Music- SUDHI SURESH, Angel Of Dystopia- Kerela -25, 000
  • Best Direction- KURESH CHANDRA SAHOO, Road Safety Life Safety – Daspalla, Nayagarh -25, 000
  • Best Acting: MANAS ROUT, The Road – Jajpur- 25, 000

Special Jury Award – Rs. 15000 each

  • Animation (2D): YOUR LIFE IS NOT YOURS ONLY, Director: AbhilipsaTripathy
  • Animation (3D): HAATH DHORE CHALO, Production House: NimbuMirchi Production
  • Regional film(Sambalpuri) – FITNESS ALSO ESSENTIAL, Director: SarojKumbhar
  • Best concept (Odia): ABHYASTA, Director: DEBASISH PRATIHARI
  • Best concept (Non-Odia): SILENT SLUMBER, Director: BrajabandhuBehera
  • Documentary: A TRUE STORY, Director: Manas Mishra
  • Documentary for a cause: THE SILENT EPIDEMIC, Rahagiri Foundation
  • Special Jury: BISWASTA SATHI (Dog)

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

A Bhumiputra will rule the land of Utkala Bhumi, not a Tamil babu:Amit Shah

Sambalpur:21/5/24: Union Home Minister Amit Shah Tuesday reached Sambalpur for BJP’s Lok Sabha poll campaign in Odisha. Launching a direct attack on the 25-year rule of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik ...