Home » Entertainment » 15 films lined up for International Competition at 54th IFFI in Goa

15 films lined up for International Competition at 54th IFFI in Goa

Newdelhi:6/11/23:54th International Film Festival of India has released the line-up of international movies for competition during the festival. The best of the feature-length fiction films from all over the world are selected to compete in the section. It is one of the most important sections of the festival that features some of the best films of the year and these 15 films compete for the Golden Peacock and other awards.

The movies that are part of the lineup include

  1. Any Day Now   | Dir : Hamy Ramezan | Finland
  2. Charlotte | Dir : Simon Franco | Paraguay
  3. Godavari | Dir: Nikhil Mahajan | Marathi, India
  4. Întregalde | Dir : Radu Muntean |Romania
  5. Land of Dreams | Dir : Shirin Neshat & Shoja Azari | New Mexico, USA
  6. Leader | Dir : Katia Priwieziencew | Poland
  7. Me Vasantrao | Dir: Nipun Avinash Dharmadhikari | Marathi, India
  8. Moscow Does Not Happen | Dir: Dmitry Fedorov | Russia
  9. No Ground Beneath The Feet| Dir: Mohammad Rabby Mridha | Bangladesh
  10. Once We Were Good For You | Dir: Branko Schmidt | Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina
  11. Ring Wandering | Dir : Masakazu Kaneko | Japan
  12. Saving One Who Was Dead | Dir: Václav Kadrnka | Czech Republic
  13.  Semkhor | Dir: Aimee Baruah | Dimasa, India
  14. The Dorm | Dir : Roman Vasyanov | Russia
  15. The First Fallen | Dir : Rodrigo de Oliveira |Brazil

These films will compete for various categories of awards, viz:

  1. Best Film (Golden Peacock) – This award carries a cash prize of Rs. 40,00,000/- to be shared equally between the Director and Producer. The Director will receive the Golden Peacock and a Certificate in addition to the cash component. The Producer will receive a Certificate in addition to the cash component.
  2. Best Director: Silver Peacock, Certificate, and a cash prize of Rs.15,00,000/-
  3. Best Actor (Male): Silver Peacock, Certificate and a cash prize of Rs10,00,000/-
  4. Best Actor (Female): Silver Peacock, Certificate, and a cash prize of Rs10,00,000/-
  5. Special Jury Award: Silver Peacock, Certificate, and a cash prize of Rs 15,00,000/- given to a film (for any aspect of the film which the jury wishes to award/acknowledge) or an individual (for his/her artistic contribution to a film). The award, if given to a film, will be given to the Director of the film.

The Jury for the International Competition for 52nd IFFI comprises of

  1. Ms. RakhshānBanietemad (67yrs) | Iran | Filmmaker- Jury Chairperson
  2. Mr. Stephen Woolley (65yrs) | UK | Film Producer, Director
  3. Mr. Ciro Guerra (40 yrs) | Columbia | Filmmaker
  4. Mr. VimukthiJayasundara (44yrs) | Srilanka | Filmmaker
  5. Mr. Nila Madhab Panda (47 yrs) | India | Filmmaker


About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Country Director UN WFP India Elisabeth Faure met Odisha Chief Minister

BHUBANESWAR:9/12/23:  Country Director UN WFP India Elisabeth Faure on Friday met Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in Bhubaneswar. 5T-Nabin Odisha Chairman VK Pandian was also present during the meeting. Chief ...