Home » Literature » Eminent fictionist Bhima Prusty received the prestigious ‘Sarala Puraskar’

Eminent fictionist Bhima Prusty received the prestigious ‘Sarala Puraskar’

Bhubaneswar:27/10/23:Eminent fictionist Bhima Prusty received the prestigious ‘Sarala Puraskar’, which is given annually by IMPaCT, the charitable wing of the Indian Metals and Ferro Alloys Ltd. (IMFA).

Prusty received the award at the Sarala Puraskar Utsav in Bhubaneswar on Thursday for his novel ‘Jambuloka’.  Prusty’s novel was published by Paschima Publications in 2017. The award carried a plaque, a certificate, and a purse of Rs 5 lakh.

Noted fictionist Bhima Prusty to receive 44th 'Sarala Puraskar'

After receiving the award, Prusty extended his thanks to the judges who chose his novel for the award. On this occasion, the ‘Ila-Bansidhar Panda Kala Samman-2023’, given every year by IMPaCT for lifetime excellence in the field of art, was awarded to Guru Benudhar Mohapatra, a unique pattachitra artist. Moreover, famous flute player Guru Mohini Mohan Patnaik also received the ‘Ila-Bansidhar Panda Kala Samman-2023.

‘The award carried a plaque, a certificate, and a purse of Rs 2 lakh. Noted Marathi writer Dr. Dnyaneshwar Mulay attended the event as the chief guest. The ‘Sarala Puraskar’, instituted by eminent Odia industrialist Dr. Bansidhar Panda and his wife Ila Panda in 1980, has been continuously awarded by the Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT).

Sarala Puraskar
It was instituted in 1980 with the objective of recognizing outstanding literary work in Odia. With a purse of Rs. 5,00,000, it is today considered the premier recognition for an Odia writer. Besides this, since 2015 IMPaCT has instituted the ‘Ila Panda Sangeet Samman’ and ‘Ila Panda Chitrakala Samman’ to felicitate musicians and artists of Odisha, presently carrying a cash award of Rs. 2,00,000 and a Citation for each of the winners.
Year   Sarala Puraskar Recipients
2022 – Dr Gourahari Das
2021 – Smt Paramita Satpathy
2020 – Shri Nityananda Nayak
2019 – Dr. Pradeep Dash
2018 – Dr. Satrughna Pandav
2017 – Smt Banaja Devi
2016 – Dr. Hrushikesh Mallick
2015 – Mr Manoj Kumar Panda
2014 – Mr Prafulla Das
2013 – Mr Achyutananda Pati
2012 – Dr Hrushikesh Panda
2011 – Mr Harihar Mishra
2010 – Smt Binapani Mohanty
2009 – Dr Prasanna Kumar Mishra
2008 – Mr Haraprasad Das
2007 – Dr Dasarathi Das
2006 – Smt Annapurna Maharana
2005 – Mr Hrudananda Ray
2004 – Mr Satakadi Hota
2003 – Mr Jagdish Mohanty
2002 – Mr Uttam Kumar Pradhan & Mr Srinivas Udgata
2001 – Mr Tarun Kanti Mishra
2000 – Mr Gopal Chottray
1999 – Dr Bibhuti Bhusan Pattnaik
1998 – Dr Jagannath Prasad Dash
1997 – Mr Manmohan Choudhury
1996 – Padamshree Late Dr S N Rajguru
1995 – Mr Rajendra Kishore Panda
1994 – Prof Bhubaneswar Behera
1993 – Dr Nrushinga Charan Panda
1992 – Dr (Mrs) Prativa Satpathy
1991 – Mr Rama Chandra Behera & Late (Mr) Rabi Pattnaik
1990 – Mr Monoranjan Das & Mrs Prativa Roy
1989 – Mr Chittaranja Das
1988 – Mr Sarat Kumar Mohanty
1987 – Mr Santanu Kumar Acharya
1986 – Mr Kishore Charan Das
1985 – Dr Sitakanta Mohapatra
1984 – Mr Ramakanta Rath
1983 – Mr Mohapatra Neelamani Sahu
1982 – Mr Chandrasekhar Rath
1981 – Mr Manoj Das
1980 – Mr Surendra Mohanty


About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

BJP announced Vishnu Deo Sai as the new Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh

Raipur, Dec 10: Ending the speculations, the BJP on Sunday announced Vishnu Deo Sai as the new Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh. This decision was taken during a meeting of the BJP ...