Home » State News » Odisha Excise Department has bagged the 20th Computer Society of India-Special Interest Group (CSI-SIG) e-Governance Award

Odisha Excise Department has bagged the 20th Computer Society of India-Special Interest Group (CSI-SIG) e-Governance Award

Bhubaneswar:26/3/23: Odisha Excise Department has bagged the 20th Computer Society of India-Special Interest Group (CSI-SIG) e-Governance Award for its 5T-driven eAbkari computerization initiative.

In a special ceremony held on Saturday at Delhi Technology University, Ashish Kumar Singh, Excise Commissioner, Odisha and Nihar Ranjan Biswal, Senior Technical Director, NIC, Bhubaneswar have received the prestigious award on behalf of Excise Department from an eminent panel of jurist consisting of scientist and technocrats of the Computer Society of India.

The Award has been presented to Excise Department for computerization and IT initiatives.

It is pertinent to mention that in tune with 5T initiatives of the Odisha Government, Excise Department has switched over to the digital work place “eAbkari” with the technical support of NIC since 2019-20 developing and implementing more than 40 online modules like e-Lottery, Instant issue & renewal of Excise Licenses, Brand Label Registrations with 100% online payment, DPR, CCIS, SIR and mobile app development for tracking of raid spots and excise shops etc. as on date bringing transparent, hassles free, real time, seamless and timely service delivery eliminating physical touch points, reducing discretion and providing faceless service at door steps. This has led to proper monitoring and strengthening of enforcement activities, curbing of illicit & spurious liquor, timely service delivery at different levels, proper supply chain management with regulation of production and manufacture and above all, change of public perception and transformation in the Department.

This year the Excise Department has bagged two more prestigious award at national level besides the CSI-SIG E-Governance award.

The Department had received Digital India Gold Award for digital initiatives for ease of doing business through eAbkari. Sushil Kumar Lohani, Ex-Principal Secretary to Govt., Excise Department and Ashish Kumar Singh, Excise Commissioner received the award for from Hon’ble President of India on 7th February, 2023.

The Department was honoured with SKOCH Group Silver Award for the ICT Intervention in the Department at India Habitat Centre, New Delhi on 25th December, 2022.

The use of IT initiatives have led to proper monitoring and strengthening of enforcement activities and transparency in the Department.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Tamil Adheenams handed over the ‘Sengol’-historic sceptre to Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Newdelhi:27/5/23: India’s new Parliament building is scheduled to be inaugurated on Sunday i.e. 28 May. Over the inauguration, the opposition parties have raised objections saying that the President and not ...