Home » District Diary » Around 3500 Runners Participate in 3rd Edition of Tata Steel Meramandali Run-a-thon

Around 3500 Runners Participate in 3rd Edition of Tata Steel Meramandali Run-a-thon

# 20 winners awarded cash awards worth Rs 4.2 lakhs

# 10 sportspersons from Dhenkanal and Angul districts felicitated

# 6 national level Volleyball players of Angul and Dhenkanal felicitated

# RashmiRanjanNayak of Khurdha  andSamsadAra Begum of Bhubaneswar are winners of 10 km run in Male and Female category respectively

# Tata Steel commits to plant one sapling for each of registered runner to promote greener planet

Dhenkanal:5/2/23:Meramandali Run-a-thon, the mega sports event organized in collaboration with the Dhenkanal District Administration, saw a turnout of over 3500 enthusiastic runners from across the country. The 10 km and 5 km runs were flagged off by dignitaries including MLA Sudhir Samal, MLA Simarani Nayak, Collector and District Magistrate Saroj Kumar Sethy,IAS,SP GyanRanjanMohapatra,Chanakya Chaudhary, Vice President, Corporate Services, Tata Steel and Subodh Pandey, Vice President – Opertaions, TatatSteel Meramandali.

This year’s theme, “Run for a Greener Planet,” saw participants compete in 10 KM and 7 KM categories for men and women. The runs started from the housing colony of the plant located at Kantabania, passing through the NH-55 service road and nearby village road of Shibapur.

Winners in both the men and women categories of the 10 km run were awarded cash prizes and trophies, with a total of 20 prizes worth Rs 4.2 lakhs presented. RashmiRanjanNayak from Khurdha won the 10 km men’s category, while SamsadAra Begum won the 10 km women’s category. In the 5 km categories, Praveen won in the men’s category, and DaitaHantal won in the women’s category.

The event was held to international standards with the use of technology such as timing digital mats, RFID chips, split timing mats, tracking cameras, and wifi networks. Tata Steel partnered with a Mumbai-based agency experienced in organizing similar runs to ensure the event’s success.

In addition to the winners, 10 sportspersons from Angul and Dhenkanal districts, nominated by the respective district administrations, were also felicitated, as well as 6 volleyball players who were groomed by Tata Steel and have participated in national level matches.

The event was attended by several dignitaries including ADM Ramesh Chandra Sethi, President PrajasanghaGangadhar Samal, Regional Officer of the State Pollution Control Board DrAnup Kumar Mallick, Chief District Medical Officer Ashok Kumar Das, Sub-Collector Snigdharni Dhal, COO of Rimjhim Steel Limited Pradeep Sharma, and Group Head of HR at MGM Minerals Srinivas Bramha.Besides sarpanchs from nearby panchayats like Kususpanga, Sibapur, Nuagaon, Nuahata, Kamlanga, etc were also present.


About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

A new chapter has been added in urban development of Odisha

Bhubaneswar:29/2/2 4:Chief Minister Naveen Pattnaik dedicated, drinking water facilities for the city dwellers, drinking from taps, roads, sanitation, and various civic services have been provided to the residents along with ...