Home » District Diary » Padampur By-Poll: Counting Of Votes To Start At 8 AM on 8th December

Padampur By-Poll: Counting Of Votes To Start At 8 AM on 8th December

Padampur: 7/12/22: The counting of postal votes for by-poll to Padampur Assembly Constituency will start at 8 am on Thursday (Dec 8) and the entire process is likely to be completed by evening.

“All arrangements are ready for smooth and transparent counting of votes cast in the December 5 Padampur by-poll in Odisha,” said state Chief Electoral Office (CEO) S K Lohani on Wednesday at a presser.

Tight security is in place for the counting at RMC yard near the Padampur sub-collector’s office and trained officials have been engaged for the work, he said.

R.M.C. Godown, Padampur has been declared as the Counting Centre for Padampur Assembly Constituency and polled EVMs have been stored in the Strong room close to the Counting Hall.

The Strong room will be opened on the morning of 8th Dec and the initial counting of Postal Ballots will be taken up at 8.00 a.m. All the postal ballots received from Service voters (24) as well as Absentee voters (272) i.e. a total of 296 postal ballots will be taken up for counting. Postal ballots from Service voters will also be included which are received till 7.59 a.m. on the Counting day. All necessary infrastructure has been ensured by DEO & Collector, Bargarh and Returning Officer.

A total of 319 booths will be counted in 14 Tables in each round. In all, 23 rounds of Counting will take place and after completion of EVM counting, VVPAT slips of five booths selected randomly will be taken up for counting to cross-verify the EVM figures.

Each table will have three persons i.e., one Counting Supervisor, one Counting Assistant and one Micro Observer (belongs to Central Govt.). There will be sufficient reserve personnel. All of them have been properly trained, said Lohani.

Allotment of table to the Counting Staff will be done on a Random basis and counting will be done by R.O. who will be assisted by one A.R.O. Besides, General Observer appointed by ECI will be present throughout to oversee the counting process, he said.

To handle any Technical issue arising during counting, two ECIL Engineers will be available in the Counting centre. Except for R.O. and Observer, nobody can carry mobile phones inside the Counting hall.

Each candidate can appoint one Agent for each table and one for counting agent for R.O. Table for counting Postal ballots etc. Besides, the Candidate or his/her Election Agent can remain present in the Counting Hall.

Adequate security arrangement has been made around the Counting Centre. The entire 100 mtr zone will be declared as Pedestrian zone. There will be three-tier security consisting of CAPF, S.A.P.F. and Local Police.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Akshaya Chandra Ray Memorial Award in the category of Novel (Odia) for 2023

Bhubaneswar:26/1/23:Pratibha Ray Foundation Trust & Adya Prakashani have announced the Third Akshaya Chandra Ray Memorial award in the category of Novel (Odia) for 2023. The award, instituted in 2020 and ...