Home » State News » Odisha has won three national awards in the prestigious annual India Sanitation Coalition (ISC)-FICCI Sanitation Awards 2022

Odisha has won three national awards in the prestigious annual India Sanitation Coalition (ISC)-FICCI Sanitation Awards 2022

New Delhi:7/12/22: Odisha has won three national awards in the prestigious annual India Sanitation Coalition (ISC)-FICCI Sanitation Awards 2022 which were declared today at the awards function held in New Delhi.

Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC) was awarded the “Best Faecal Sludge and Septage Management (FSSM) Model – Urban,” and Sasmita Barik, a Swachha Sathi from Bhadrak Municipality was awarded the “Women Changemaker in Sanitation” Award. In addition, Jajpur district was awarded for “Best Skilling Initiative in Sanitation.”

The ISC-FICCI Awards ceremony and conclave is an annual national event celebrating leaders, rising stars, and organizations who are driving growth in the sanitation value chain for achieving a “cleaner, healthier, safer, happier, and a gender-equal India.”

The Housing & Urban Development Department (H&UDD) of the Government of Odisha has been winning awards under various categories in the annual ISC-FICCI Awards Ceremony since 2019.

The award for Bhubaneswar was received by Sulochana Das, Mayor, BMC in the event along with team members.

The “Women Changemaker in Sanitation” Award was received by Sasmita Barik along with Additional Secretary and Additional Mission Director SBM (Urban) H&UDD, Durgesh Nandini Sahoo.

Both awards are a recognition of the Odisha model of decentralized and community-led sanitation.

BMC was awarded for its comprehensive implementation of FSSM across the value chain along with building an enabling environment by engaging multiple stakeholders and executing wide-ranging interventions in the Capital city.

ISC-FICCI Sanitation Awards-2022 PG2

The FSSM model has focused on community-led demand generation, strong enforcement of regulations against illegal sludge disposal, innovative ways of cesspool vehicle service delivery, optimum utilization of the Septage Treatment Plants (SeTPs), city-wide communication campaign, etc.

Sasmita Barik, the 26-year-old Swachha Sathi from Bhadrak was awarded for her active leadership and pro-activeness in keeping the city clean and hygienic by spreading awareness among households on both Faecal Sludge and Septage Management (FSSM) and Solid Waste Management (SWM) and motivating citizens to adopt appropriate sanitation practices.

Odisha has been implementing a unique model of decentralized waste management with community partners as a 5T initiative which has been lauded across various platforms.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Tata Steel Meramandali Announces Third Edition of Run-a-thon with the theme: Run For A Greener Planet

 To be organised in partnership with Dhenkanal District Administration A sapling to be planted for each registration 20 awards worth Rs 4.2 lakhs to be awarded 3500 run enthusiasts to ...