Home » Entertainment » Sangeet Natak Akademi announces Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for the years 2019, 2020 & 2021.

Sangeet Natak Akademi announces Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for the years 2019, 2020 & 2021.

Newdelhi:25/11/22:The General Council of Sangeet Natak Akademi, the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, New Delhi, at its meeting held from 6-8 November 2022 at New Delhi  unanimously elected Ten (10) eminent personalities in the field of performing arts as Akademi Fellows. The Fellowship of the Akademi is a most prestigious and rare honour, which is restricted to 40  at any given time.  With the election of ten (10) Fellows, there are presently  (39) Fellows of Sangeet Natak Akademi.

The General Council also selected one hundred and twenty-eight (128) artists from the field of Music, Dance, Theatre, Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre, Puppetry and Overall contribution/scholarship in the Performing Arts for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for the years 2019, 2020 & 2021.  These one hundred and  twenty eight (128) artists include three joint awards.

The eminent artists cover  the entire gamut of the performing arts such as vocal  music, both Hindustani and Carnatic; instrumental music, both Hindustani and Carnatic including Flute, Sitar and Mridangam; Sugam Sangeet as well as Harikatha;   the major forms of Indian dance such as Bharatanatyam, Kathak, Kathakali, Kuchipudi, Odissi, Sattriya, Mohiniattam as well as Contemporary Dance;   the different specializations of  theatre such as playwriting, direction, acting, make-up, lighting, stage design; the other major traditions of theatre like Isai Natakam;  the folk and tribal arts as well as the arts of puppetry and instrument making.

The honour of Akademi Fellow carries a purse money of Rs.3,00,000/- (Rupees three lakh) while the Akademi Award carries a purse money of Rs 1,00,000/- (Rupees one lakh), besides a Tamrapatra and Angavastram.

The Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards will be conferred by the President of India in a special investiture ceremony.

Click here for the complete list of awardees

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Tata Steel Meramandali Announces Third Edition of Run-a-thon with the theme: Run For A Greener Planet

 To be organised in partnership with Dhenkanal District Administration A sapling to be planted for each registration 20 awards worth Rs 4.2 lakhs to be awarded 3500 run enthusiasts to ...