Home » Sports » Former skipper of Indian hockey team, Padma Shri Dilip Tirkey, was elected as the President of Hockey India.

Former skipper of Indian hockey team, Padma Shri Dilip Tirkey, was elected as the President of Hockey India.

Bhubaneswar:23/9/22: Former skipper of Indian hockey team, Padma Shri Dilip Tirkey, was elected as the President of Hockey India.

Olympian Dilip Tirkey from Odisha was elected unopposed in the election for the post of President of Hockey India. He had filed his nomination papers for the position on September 18.

As mentioned in the election Bye Laws on the Hockey India website, that when the number of contesting candidates for any post is equal or less than the number of posts, they shall be deemed to have been elected unopposed, the release by FIH stated today.

“We are pleased to observe that the Executive Board of Hockey India stands elected as has been put on the website of Hockey India from today and that the posts election was unanimous for all posts,” the release added.

The former hockey captain was assigned the top post of Hockey India ahead of Hockey Pro League matches scheduled from October 28, 2022, and FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023, scheduled to commence from January 13 next year.

The FIH also congratulated Tirkey on his election as Hockey India chief, saying in its letter from Lausanne on Friday, “At the outset, the FIH would like to thank the members of the Committee of Administrators for adhering and ensuring that the election process of Hockey India has been conducted smoothly. The FIH has been monitoring the election process through the Hockey India website and media reports in India.

Dilip Tikey, a member of the 1998 Asian Games gold medal-winning side, has played a record 412 international matches in his career spanning more than 15 years as defender. He represented India at the 1996 Atlanta, 2000 Sydney and 2004 Athens Olympic Games.

Hockey India office-bearers: President – Dilip Tirkey (Hockey Association of Odisha); Vice-president (female) – Asima Ali (Hockey Jammu & Kashmir); Vice-president (male) – S.V.S. Subramanya (Hockey Karnataka); Secretary-General – Bhola Nath Singh (Hockey Jharkhand); Treasurer – Sekar J Manoharan (Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu); Joint secretary (female) – Ms. Arti Singh (Hockey Rajasthan); Joint secretary (male) – Sunil Malik (Hockey Haryana).

Executive Board Members: Arun Kumar Saraswat (Hockey Rajasthan); Asrita Lakra (Hockey Jharkhand); Gurpreet Kaur (Hockey Delhi); V Sunil Kumar (Kerala Hockey); Tapan Kumar Das (Assam Hockey).

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Odisha, 11 cities have bagged National Awards in the Swachh Survekshan-2022

New Delhi:6/10/22: In a major achievement forOdisha, 11 cities have bagged National Awards in the Swachh Survekshan-2022. Apart from this, Cuttack city and Pipili ULB have received National Awards in ...