Home » National » Voting process to elect 16th President of India concludes; Over 99% elector turnout recorded

Voting process to elect 16th President of India concludes; Over 99% elector turnout recorded

Newdelhi:18/7/22:Over 99 percent elector turnout was recorded in the Presidential election for which polling was held today. The poll was conducted in a peaceful and orderly manner in all the designated places across the country including Parliament House. The Polling began at Parliament House as well as the premises of the State Legislative Assemblies at 10 A.M which continued till 5 P.M.

Counting will be taken up on Thursday. After the end of the polling process, the Election Commission in a statement said that out of a total of four thousand 796 electors in the list of Electoral College for the Presidential Election, over 99 percent cast their votes today. It said, a hundred percent voting by MLAs was reported from 11 States and  UT of Puducherry.

These States are Chattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, and Tamil Nadu.

Addressing media in Parliament House complex,  Rajya Sabha Secretary General P C Mody said that out of the 736 electors comprising 727 MPs and 9 MLAs who were permitted to vote at Parliament House, 730 electors cast their votes. They include  721 MPs and  9 MLAs.  Mr. Mody informed that  99.18% percent of elector turnout was recorded at Parliament House.

The Rajya Sabha Secretary General also informed that the Assistant Returning Officers of various States will start arriving with the polled sealed ballot boxes to Parliament House, New Delhi by road and by air from today itself.

He said all necessary security arrangements for the safe transit of the ballot boxes from the Airport to Parliament House have been made. The Parliament Security Service is coordinating activities with the Delhi Police, Airport Authorities, and CRPF among others to ensure smooth and secure transport of the ballot boxes.

AIR correspondent reports that the term of office of President Ram Nath Kovind is ending on the 24th of July. Former Jharkhand Governor Droupadi Murmu is the NDA candidate for the Presidential election, while former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha is contesting as a joint Opposition candidate for the top post.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Ministers Anurag Thakur, Piyush Goyal, and Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya were among the first to cast their votes at  Parliament House this morning.

Union Ministers Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh, BJP President  JP Nadda, Former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh,  Congress President Sonia Gandhi and party leader Rahul Gandhi, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah, Samajwadi Party leader Ram Gopal Yadav, and others also cast their votes.

The counting of votes for the Presidential election will take place on the 21st of this month at Parliament House from 11 AM onwards.

The President of India is elected by the Members of an Electoral College consisting of the elected members of both Houses of Parliament, and the elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of all States including Delhi and Puducherry.

The Members nominated to either House of Parliament or the Legislative Assemblies of States, including the NCT of Delhi and Union Territory of Puducherry, are not eligible to be included in the Electoral College.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Odisha Public Service Commission announced to postpone the ASO examination for flood situation

Bhubaneswar:18/8/22: With many districts facing flood situation, the Odisha Public Service Commission (OPSC) today announced to postpone the Assistant Section Officer (ASO) examination. The examination was scheduled to be held on ...