Home » Sports » Hockey India Names 20-Member Indian Men’s Team For Hero Asian Champions Trophy

Hockey India Names 20-Member Indian Men’s Team For Hero Asian Champions Trophy

Bhubaneswar:26/11/21: Hockey India on Friday named the 20-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team for the upcoming Hero Men’s Asian Champions Trophy which is scheduled to be held between 14 – 22 December 2021.

Defending Champions India begin their campaign on an opening day against Korea. In this edition, they will battle it out against Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan and hosts Bangladesh in the single-pool tournament for top honors.

The Indian team will see Manpreet Singh Captain the side along with Harmanpreet Singh who will be his deputy. The team includes goalkeepers Krishan B Pathak and Suraj Karkera. India‘s defense will see Harmanpreet Singh lead the charge along with Gurinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Dipsan Tirkey, Varun Kumar and Mandeep Mor. With this line-up, India will have four options for drag-flick. The midfield will see Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Sumit, Rajkumar Pal, Shamsher Singh and the experienced Akashdeep Singh.

The forward line will be led by Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, and Shilanand Lakra.

Talking about the selection, Chief Coach (Men) Graham Reid said, “While selecting this team we now must have our eyes on the future. It takes a deep and strong squad to build sustained success so players have to be given opportunities to perform.”

“We have picked a team that has a good mix of experience and younger guys who will have their chance to show what they can do. It is a hectic match schedule and given the COVID situation, FIH & AHF have allowed 18 players to be chosen each game out of a greater squad of 20. The Asian Champions Trophy is a World Class event that will provide all teams a fantastic opportunity to start the next Olympiad with the much-needed competition. We are looking forward to the challenge,” he added.

India will play their opening match against Korea on 14 December, followed by their match against hosts Bangladesh on 15 December. Their third match will be against arch-rivals Pakistan on 17 December and on 18 December India will take on Malaysia followed by their match against Japan on 19 December. The Semi-Finals will be played on 21 December followed by the Final on 22 December. In the previous edition of this event held in Muscat, Oman, India had jointly lifted the title along with Pakistan as the Final was called off due to incessant rains.

Indian Men’s Hockey Team


1. Krishan Bahadur Pathak
2. Suraj Karkera


3. Harmanpreet Singh (VC)
4. Gurinder Singh
5. Jarmanpreet Singh
6. Dipsan Tirkey
7. Varun Kumar
8. Nilam Sanjeep Xess
9. Mandeep Mor


10. Hardik Singh
11. Manpreet Singh (C)
12. Jaskaran Singh
13. Sumit
14. Rajkumar Pal
15. Akashdeep Singh
16 Shamsher Singh


17. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
18. Dilpreet Singh
19. Gursahibjit Singh
20. Shilanand Lakra

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Country Director UN WFP India Elisabeth Faure met Odisha Chief Minister

BHUBANESWAR:9/12/23:  Country Director UN WFP India Elisabeth Faure on Friday met Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in Bhubaneswar. 5T-Nabin Odisha Chairman VK Pandian was also present during the meeting. Chief ...