Home » Education » IIT Bhubaneswar has celebrated its 10th Annual Convocation

IIT Bhubaneswar has celebrated its 10th Annual Convocation

 Bhubaneswar21/10/21: IIT Bhubaneswar has celebrated its 10th Annual Convocation on 20th Oct 2021, in a hybrid mode where students participate live in-person or by online during the current pandemic time.  Prof. R.V. Raja Kumar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar addressed a pre-event press conference on the occasion.

Shri N.R. Narayana Murthy, Founder, Infosys has graced the occasion as the Chief Guest by virtual mode and addressed the Convocation. Dr. Rajendra Prasad Singh, Chairman, Board of Governors (BoG), IIT Bhubaneswar presided over online. Prof R. V. Raja Kumar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar was presented with the Convocation report and awarded the degrees to the students. The institute has evolved a very unique and innovative method of holding the convocation with the participation of the degree recipients and degree awarding taking place in live form, the either in-person or online presence of a student over the internet.

During this Convocation, the Institute had conferred degrees on 559 students including 35 Ph. D., 153 M. Tech., 79 M.Sc., 256 B. Tech, and 36 Dual Degree. It is a proud moment for the graduating students, their parents, the faculty members, and staff members, and the administration of the institute.

The President of India Gold Medal had been e awarded to Shri Dinesh Mohanty of Computer Science and Engineering for the best academic performance among the entire outgoing B. Tech. batch of students.

The Director’s Gold Medal goes to  Shri Shivam Handa of the Mechanical Engineering and Mechanical Systems Design for the best academic performance during the entire outgoing Dual Degree (B.Tech+M.Tech) batch of Students.

The Director’s Gold Medal was  awarded to Shri Saswat Kumar Panda of Manufacturing Engineering for the best academic performance among the entire outgoing M.Tech batch of students

The Director’s Gold Medal was also be awarded to Shri Hitesh Gupta of the Atmosphere and Ocean Sciences for the best academic performance among the entire outgoing M. Sc. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in their respective branches, the Institute Silver Medals were awarded to Shri Dinesh Mohanty, Shri Sudhanshu Choudhary, Shri Kuldeep Gupta, Shri Ranjith K, and Shri Jishnu Shankar Baruah among the outgoing B. Tech. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in their respective disciplines, the Institute Silver Medals were awarded to Shri Saswat Kumar Panda, Shri Rohit Dilip Agarwal, Shri Susmit Subhransu Sathpathy, Shri Kona Sai Vikas, Shri Soumyashree Bisoyi, Ms. Shivangi Shrivastava, Shri Rajeeb Kumar Malik among the outgoing M. Tech. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in their respective disciplines, the Institute Silver Medals had been awarded to Shri Hitesh Gupta, Shri Vikasmita Samanta, Shri Aditya Kumar, and Ms. Rumki Ghosh and Shri Bibhabasu Pradhan among the outgoing M. Sc. batch of students.

On the endowment award category, Dr. K. Kasturirangan Award for the Best Male Graduate goes to Shri Dinesh Mohanty, Prof. P. Rama Rao Award for best Lady Graduate award goes to  Ms. Aneri Manoj Gandhi, Dinesh Memorial Award for best B. Tech Thesis – Mechanical Sciences will be awarded to Shri. Akarsh Balachandran and Tejaswi Memorial Award for the best B. Tech Thesis – Electrical Sciences will be awarded to Ms. Aneri Manoj Gandhi.

Last year, the student strength of the Institute was 2490 (B.Tech. – 910, Dual-Degree – 380 (excluding Dual Degree 1st Year), M.Tech. – 362, M.Sc – 201, Ph.D. – 374, including 10% of EWS category and supernumerary admissions for women students). The Institute offers 6 Nos. of B.Tech. 9 Nos. of Dual Degree Programmes, 5 Nos. of M.Sc., 14 Nos. of M.Tech Programmes, and Ph.D. Programme in its 7 Schools

Prof. R.V. Raja Kumar, further said, “the convocation is a celebration of the graduation of students who earned their degrees with important learning during their peak youthhood and the institute is keen on their live participation. Therefore, the institute has come up with this very unique and innovative form of holding convocation during the last convocation itself and the same is being adopted this time too due to the continuation of a pandemic. We are very happy that Shri. N. R. Narayana Murthy had graced the occasion and to address the graduating students”.

Dr. Pravas Ranjan Sahu, Dean Academics, and Shri Debaraj Rath, Registrar, IIT Bhubaneswar. was also   present at the conference .

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Check Also

ICC signs MoU with Odisha govt, RITES to undertake to study on the logistics infrastructure of state

Bhubaneswar: 8/12/21: Indian Chamber of Commerce (ICC) has decided to undertake a unique study on the logistics infrastructure of Odisha which covers all modes of transport like road, rail, inland ...