Home » Literature » Noted writer Paramita Satpathy To Be Conferred With Sarala Puraskar for her novel ‘Abhipreta Kala’

Noted writer Paramita Satpathy To Be Conferred With Sarala Puraskar for her novel ‘Abhipreta Kala’

Bhubaneswar:5/8/21:Noted writer Paramita Satpathy will be awarded the prestigious Sarala Puraskar instituted by IMFA’s charitable wing IMPaCT for her novel ‘Abhipreta Kala’ which has been published by Paschima Publications, Bhubaneswar in the year 2016.

Satpathy will be receiving the 42nd edition of the foremost literary award of Odisha. She will be given away cash reward of Rs.5,00,000 (Rupees Five Lakh) along with a citation.

In view of the COVID pandemic, this year, Paramita will be felicitated with the award personally as the ceremony will not be organised in the usual manner.

Paramita has penned seven short story collections and several other novels. Her short story collection ‘Prapti’ was recognised with India’s top literary honor, the Kendriya Sahitya Akademi award for Odia in 2016. Some of her other major works include Narikabi O Anyamane, Kurei Fula and Birala Rupaka


Among other accolades, Paramita has also been felicitated with the Odisha Sahitya Akademi Award in 2006 and Bharatiya Bhasa Parishad Yuva Puraskar in 2003.

Daughter of renowned writers, Sahitya Akademi Award winner poet Pratibha Satpathy and Nityananda Satpathy, Paramita is an influential voice in the Indian literary fraternity. Many of her works have been translated into various other languages.

The annual Sarala Puraskar instituted by eminent Odia industrialist late Dr. Bansidhar Panda and Late Mrs. Ila Panda in the year 1980, has been continuously awarded by Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT), the charitable wing of IMFA Ltd., the leading and the only fully integrated producer of ferroalloys in India.

In a press statement, the IMFA has informed that the Bansidhar-Ila Panda Sangeet Sammana & Chitrakala Sammana will be declared soon. Details of the awardee in the previous  year given below:

Year   Sarala Puraskar Recipients
2020 – Shri Nityananda Nayak
2019 – Dr. Pradeep Dash
2018 – Dr. Satrughna Pandav
2017 – Smt Banaja Devi
2016 – Dr. Hrushikesh Mallick
2015 – Mr. Manoj Kumar Panda
2014 – Mr. Prafulla Das
2013 – Mr. Achyutananda Pati
2012 – Dr. Hrushikesh Panda
2011 – Mr. Harihar Mishra
2010 – Smt Binapani Mohanty
2009 – Dr Prasanna Kumar Mishra
2008 – Mr. Haraprasad Das
2007 – Dr. Dasarathi Das
2006 – Smt Annapurna Maharana
2005 – Mr. Hrudananda Ray
2004 – Mr. Satakadi Hota
2003 – Mr. Jagdish Mohanty
2002 – Mr. Uttam Kumar Pradhan & Mr. Srinivas Udgata
2001 – Mr Tarun Kanti Mishra
2000 – Mr. Gopal Chottray
1999 – Dr Bibhuti Bhusan Pattnaik
1998 – Dr. Jagannath Prasad Dash

1997 – Mr Manmohan Choudhury
1996 – Padamshree Late Dr. S N Rajguru
1995 – Mr Rajendra Kishore Panda
1994 – Prof Bhubaneswar Behera
1993 – Dr. Nrushinga Charan Panda
1992 – Dr (Mrs) Prativa Satpathy
1991 – Mr Rama Chandra Behera & Late (Mr) Rabi Pattnaik
1990 – Mr Monoranjan Das & Mrs Prativa Roy
1989 – Mr. Chittaranja Das
1988 – Mr. Sarat Kumar Mohanty
1987 – Mr. Santanu Kumar Acharya
1986 – Mr. Kishore Charan Das
1985 – Dr Sitakanta Mohapatra
1984 – Mr. Ramakanta Rath
1983 – Mr Mohapatra Neelamani Sahu
1982 – Mr Chandrasekhar Rath
1981 – Mr. Manoj Das
1980 – Mr. Surendra Mohanty

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Germany surged to the top of the FIH World Rankings, upstaging Australia, Belgium and the Netherlands in the process

Bhubaneswar:30/1/23: Crowned World Champion after beating defending champions Belgium 3-3 (5-4) in a dramatic finale to win the men’s World Cup, Germany surged to the top of the FIH World Rankings, ...