Home » District Diary » Pipili Assembly by-election will be held on May 13

Pipili Assembly by-election will be held on May 13

Bhubaneswar:17/4/21: The fresh date for the by-election to Pipili Assembly seat was announced today. As per the Odisha Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) sources, the by-poll will be held on May 13. The counting of votes is likely to take place on May 16.

An official notification in this regard will be issued by the CEO, Odisha on Monday.

Following the death of Congress candidate for the by-election, Ajit Mangaraj due to Covid-19, the by-poll to Pipili Assembly seat scheduled to be held on April 17 was postponed.

Only the Congress party will be allowed to announce a new candidate who will file nomination for the by-poll.

Rudra Pratap Maharathy of BJD and Ashrit Pattnayak of BJP filed their nominations earlier. As many as 10 candidates were in the by-poll battle for the Pipili Assembly constituency.

On October 4 last year, the sitting Pipili MLA Pradeep Maharathy passed away necessitating for a by-poll to the Assembly seat.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Naveen Patnaik was ranked the most popular Chief Minister at the State-level

Bhubaneswar:12/8/22: Hours after Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik was ranked the most popular Chief Minister at the State-level, #NaveenAlwaysNo1 is now trending on social media. According to Mood of the ...