Home » State News » Odisha Congress Shortlists Candidates For Pipili By-Poll

Odisha Congress Shortlists Candidates For Pipili By-Poll

Bhubaneswar:24/3/21: A day after Odisha Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) issued the gazette notification for the ensuing Pipili by-poll scheduled to be held on April 17, Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) chief Niranjan Patnaik today said the party has submitted a report on its candidature to AICC and the party high command will finalize the candidate.

“There will be a triangular fight in Pipili this time,” said the OPCC Chief. Speaking to media persons, Patnaik said the names of three persons: Ajit Mangaraj, Purna Swain, and Nishikant Mishra have been shortlisted for the by-election. He further said that the star campaigners’ list has already been prepared and the party will work hard to win the election.

In 2019 General elections, Mangaraj contested from Pipili Assembly Constituency and secured only 9,830 votes while BJD’s strongman Late Pradeep Maharathy grabbed the seat with 88,518 votes.

By-poll to the constituency was necessitated after demise of former MLA late Pradeep Maharathy, who died on October 4 last year.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Odisha cadre IAS officer Rajesh Verma appointed as the Secretary to President Droupadi Murmu

Bhubaneswar18/8/22:Odisha cadre IAS officer Rajesh Verma was today appointed as the Secretary to President Droupadi Murmu, an official notification of the Central Government said. In the past, he has also ...