Home » National » Elaborate security arrangements in place for 2nd Phase of Bihar Assembly Elections
Distribution of EVMs and election materials to polling officials from one of the distribution centre set up for the Phase -II poll of the ongoing Bihar Assembly Election, in Bihar on November 02, 2020.

Elaborate security arrangements in place for 2nd Phase of Bihar Assembly Elections

Bihar:2/11/20: In Bihar, elaborate security arrangements are in place for the Second Phase of State Assembly Elections.

In all, 94 constituencies spread over 17 districts including Patna, Vaishali, Sitamarhi, Darbhanga and Madhubani will go to polls in this phase tomorrow.

Over 2.86 crore voters will decide the political future of 1,463 candidates.

They include 146 women and 513 independent candidates and one transgender is also there in the fray.

Polling will begin from 7 a.m. and will continue till 6 p.m.

Chief Electoral Officer H.R. Srinivasa said, polling will be upto 4 p.m. in eight Naxal-affected constituencies including Raghopur, Paru, Minapur and Alauli.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer Sanjay Kumar Singh told AIR News security forces have been deployed in Naxal-infested areas to ensure trouble-free polling.
Election Commission has instructed to follow COVID protocol during the conduct of elections.

AIR correspondent reports that every person has been instructed to wear mask during election related activities.
Electorates have to wear mask during excercising their right of franchise.

Thermal scanning of all persons shall be carried out and sanitizers shall be made available at all locations during polling.

All polling booths have already been sanitized today.

In view of COVID situation, only 1,000 electors will excercise their right of franchise at each Polling Station instead of 1,500.

BJP is contesting on 46 seats, JD(U) 43 and Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) five seats in this phase.

While RJD is contesting 56 seats, Congress has fielded 24 candidates.

LJP has fielded 52 candidates, RLSP-36, BSP-33 and NCP-29 candidates. Chief Ministerial candidate of Grand Alliance Tejaswi Yadav is seeking re-election from Raghopur Assembly Constituency.

Political fortunes of seven Cabinet Ministers of Nand Kishore Yadav, Shravan Kumar, Rana Randhir Singh, Ram Sevak Singh, Maheshwar Hazari, Suresh Sharma and Madan Sahni will be decided in this phase.

Elections are being held in three phases for 243-member Bihar Assembly. While the First Phase polling was held on 28th of October while voting in other two phases will be held on 3rd and 7th of November. Counting of votes will take place on 10th of November.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Odia scientist Dr Swati Nayak selected for prestigious Norman Borlaug Field Award, 2023

Bhubaneswar:20/9/23:  Dr Swati Nayak, the recipient of prestigious Norman Borlaug Field Award, 2023. The announcement was made yesterday, 19 September, by the World Food Prize Foundation ( Iowa, USA). The ...