Home » District Diary » Chief Electoral Officer conducted a tour of both the districts of Balasore and Jagatsinghpur i

Chief Electoral Officer conducted a tour of both the districts of Balasore and Jagatsinghpur i

Bhubaneswar:28/10/20: In order to take a stock of the poll preparedness Chief Electoral Officer, Sushil Kumar Lohani conducted a tour of both the districts of Balasore and Jagatsinghpur in which by-elections are being conducted and voting is to be held on November 3.

During the review at Balasore, Lohani emphasized on the strict adherence of COVID-19 protocols by the authorities in all stages of the Election process. The District Nodal Officer for Health who is looking after the compliance of the Guidelines of Commission for a COVID safe Bye-Elections at Balasore informed that there are Sectoral arrangements already in place to supervise the work of the ASHA workers who will conduct the thermal scanning of the voters coming to vote on 3rd Nov (Poll Day) at the entrance of the Polling station.

As per the arrangements made the voters who are found to have temperature more than the norm fixed by MoHFW ( ie. 38 degrees Celcius or 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit) will be checked twice and if found to have above the normal temperature will be issued yellow cards (waiting slips) signed by the Presiding Officer of the concerned booth. Such voter will come for voting in the last hour of the poll ie. at 5.00 PM in the afternoon and wait to vote after the normal voting is over when the polling parties can take up the vote with full PPE KIT supplied to them as a measure of safety assured for the polling Personnel.

The CEO also reiterated on the confusion of Absentee Voters who are thinking of voting again at the Polling Station after recording their votes through the Postal Ballot(PB) Paper. It was made clear that as in the process of Postal Balloting the Marked Copy of electoral Roll already gets marked as PB against the voter who had opted for voting and a Postal Ballot already issued in his/her favour such voter cannot vote in the Polling Booth on poll day.

The CEO reviewed in detail the dispersal arrangements, safety and security of the Polling personnel and sanitization of the booths and the dispersal / receiving centres. He also visited and reviewed the counting centre arrangement. Considering the Social distancing norms to be observed during COVID-19 both the constituencies ie. 38- Balasore and 102-Tirtol will have three counting halls each. One out of the three halls will be meant exclusively for the Postal Ballot Count. Special provision is being made to enable the display of the EVM counting through LED screens so that the Counting agents don’t crowd the near the counting tables.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

HM Amit Shah launched Odisha edition of Modi@20: Dreams Meet Delivery’

Bhubaneswar:8/8/22:Union Home Minister Amit Shah launched Odisha edition of ‘Modi@20: Dreams Meet Delivery’, a book on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s completion of 20 years in office – from becoming the ...