Home » National » Bye-elections in Odisha will be held on 3rd November,2020

Bye-elections in Odisha will be held on 3rd November,2020

Newdelhi:29/9/20:The Commission has decided to hold following bye-elections to fill vacancies in one (1) Parliamentary Constituency of Bihar and fifty six Assembly Constituencies in Legislative Assemblies of various States as per details below:


Sl. No. State Number & Name of Parliamentary Constituency
1. Bihar 1-Valmiki Nagar


Sl. No. State Number & Name of Assembly Constituency
Chhattisgarh 24-Marwahi(ST)
Gujarat 01-Abdasa
Gujarat 61-Limbdi
Gujarat 65-Morbi
Gujarat 94-Dhari
Gujarat 106- Gadhada (SC)
Gujarat 147-Karjan
Gujarat 173- Dangs (ST)
Gujarat 181-Kaprada(ST)
Haryana 33-Baroda
Jharkhand 10-Dumka (ST)
Jharkhand 35- Bermo
Karnataka 136-Sira
Karnataka 154-Rajarajeshwarinagar
Madhya Pradesh 04-Joura
Madhya Pradesh 5-Sumawali
Madhya Pradesh 6-Morena
Madhya Pradesh 7-Dimani
Madhya Pradesh 8-Ambah (SC)
Madhya Pradesh 12-Mehgaon
Madhya Pradesh 13-Gohad (SC)
Madhya Pradesh 15-Gwalior
Madhya Pradesh 16-Gwalior East
Madhya Pradesh 19-Dabra (SC)
Madhya Pradesh 21-Bhander (SC)
Madhya Pradesh 23-Karera (SC)
Madhya Pradesh 24-Pohari
Madhya Pradesh 28-Bamori
Madhya Pradesh 32-Ashok Nagar (SC)
Madhya Pradesh 34-Mungaoli
Madhya Pradesh 37-Surkhi
Madhya Pradesh 53- Malhara
Madhya Pradesh 87-Anuppur (ST)
Madhya Pradesh 142-Sanchi (SC)
Madhya Pradesh 161-Biaora
Madhya Pradesh 166-Agar (SC)
Madhya Pradesh 172-Hatpipliya
Madhya Pradesh 175-Mandhata
Madhya Pradesh 179-Nepanagar (ST)
Madhya Pradesh 202-Badnawar
Madhya Pradesh 211-Sanwer (SC)
Madhya Pradesh 226-Suwasra
Manipur 30-Lilong
Manipur 34-Wangjing Tentha
Nagaland 14-Southern Angami-I (ST)
Nagaland 60-Pungro-Kiphire (ST)
Odisha 38-Balasore
Odisha 102-Tirtol (SC)
Telangana 41-Dubbak
Uttar Pradesh 40- Naugawan Sadat
Uttar Pradesh 65-Bulandshahr
Uttar Pradesh 95-Tundla (SC)
Uttar Pradesh 162- Bangermau
Uttar Pradesh 218-Ghatampur (SC)
Uttar Pradesh 337- Deoria
Uttar Pradesh 367-Malhani

After taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, weather conditions, movement of forces, pandemic etc., the Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill these vacancies as per the programme mentioned as under:

Poll Events

Schedule for bye-elections in 54 ACs of various States (except Manipur)

Schedule for bye-elections in one PC of Bihar and two ACs of Manipur

Date of Issue of Gazette Notification





Last Date of Nominations





Date for Scrutiny of Nominations





Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures





Date of Poll





Date of Counting





Date before which election shall be completed






The Electoral Rolls for the aforesaid Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies w.r.t 01.01.2020 as the qualifying date has been finally published.


Adequate numbers of EVMs and VVPATs have been made available for the aforementioned bye-elections.


In continuance of the existing practice, the voter’s identification shall be mandatory in the aforementioned elections at the time of the poll. Electoral Photo Identity cards (EPIC) shall be the main document of identification of a voter. However, in order to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the electoral rolls, the following alternate identity documents are also prescribed:

  1. Aadhar Card
  2. MNREGA Job Card
  3. PAN Card
  4. Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office.
  5. Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of the Ministry of Labour
  6. Driving License
  7. Passport
  8. Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by
  9. Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR
  10. Pension document with a photograph
  11. Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs and

Model code of conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Assembly constituency going for election is included, subject to partial modification as issued vide Commission’ s instruction No. 437/6/1NST/2016-CCS, dated 29th June 2017 (available on the commission’s website). The Model code of conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the State Government concerned. Model code of conduct shall be applicable to the Union Government also.

All instructions concerning the publicity of criminal antecedents by the concerned candidates and the related political parties, who select them, as directed vide letter no. 3/4/2020/SDR/Vol.III dated 6 March 2020 and letter no. 3/4/2019/SDR/Vol.IV dated 16 September 2020 shall be followed in these elections.

Other instructions including postal ballot facilities to senior citizen(above 80 years of age) and PwD electors; election expenditure management etc. shall be applicable to the aforementioned Bye-elections.


In view of the spread of COVID-19, the Commission on 21st August 2020 has issued broad guidelines, which is to be followed strictly during the conduct of the election, which is annexed herewith as Annexure-1 which is also available on the Commission’s website.

 Click here to see the COVID guidelines. 


About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Odisha Day is a celebration of our four and a half crore Odisha brothers and sisters:Naveen Patnaik

Bhubaneswar:1/4/23:Odisha Day is a celebration of our four and a half crore Odisha brothers and sisters. Hon’ble Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik has said that our goal is to build ...