Home » National » Harivansh re-elected RS deputy chairman

Harivansh re-elected RS deputy chairman

New Delhi: 14/9/20: JD(U) MP Harivansh Narayan Singh who is the NDA candidate was re-elected as Rajya Sabha deputy chairman by a voice vote on Monday.

Singh was elected as the deputy chairman of the House for the second time. The opposition parties had proposed the candidature of RJD MP Manoj Sinha for the post.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated him on his becoming the deputy chief of RS and said that be it as a journalist or social worker, the JD(U) leader has endeared himself to many.

PM Modi said he belongs to all sides of the aisle and added that he has conducted proceedings in an impartial manner.

Harivansh’s name was proposed by BJP president JP Nadda and the leader of the House Thavarchand Gehlot seconded it.

Earlier today, the BJD extended support to Harivansh Narayan Singh in the election for Rajya Sabha deputy chairman.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Odisha CM has congratulated the students of Odisha Adarsha Vidyalaya Sangathan for their remarkable achievement in JEE(Mains)

Bhubaneswar:8/2/23: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has congratulated the students of Odisha Adarsha Vidyalaya Sangathan for their remarkable achievement in JEE(Mains). While 35 students scored more than 80 percentile and 14 ...