Bhubaneswar:3/1/20: Smart Hackathon at IIITDM Kancheepuram is a three day workshop  on  battery  technology  for  e-vehicles,  smart  innovative  glove  box  design  and recycling techniques for lithium-ion batteries. This is a part of Shri. Narendra Modi, Hon’ble Prime Minister’s vision for 2030 for adoption of 100 percent electric vehicle transportation system in India. The event was supported  by DST-SERB  and Energy Science  Society  of India  (ESSI).   The  third  year  B.Tech  Students  of  School  of  Mineral,   Materials  and Metallurgical  Engineering  at  IIT  Bhubaneswar  won  the  first  prize  in  the  IIITDM_K Hackathon on Recycling of Lithium-ion Battery. This is again a significant achievement by the students at IIT Bhubaneswar who have in the recent past have won many national level competitions and hackathons consecutively in a row.

The  team  Lit-ions  members  were  Gurudev  Singh,  Sarthak  Patnaik,  Vinay  Ahir,  Yogesh Sarma  Sedai..The  project  guide  was Dr. Soobhankar  Pati,  Assistant  Professor,  School  of Minerals, Materials and Metallurgical Engineering.

Speaking on the happy occasion, Prof. RV Raja Kumar congratulated the students, their guide and said, “We have been marching ahead and constantly striving to raise the standards of the operations  of the Institute  on all fronts  such  as quality  of education  including  teaching, learning, research and faculty and scaling up the current infrastructure in this endeavour. The strategic initiatives taken by the Institute in the recent times have not only fostered the development  of the Institute,  but  also  resulted  in a significant  rise  in Institute’s  ranking performance  on all national  and international  frameworks,  indicating  that our plans  are right and we are on the right track.

This  project  was  based  on  Lithium-Ion  Batteries  recycling,  it  was  a  process  of  direct recycling  of  lithium-ion  batteries  which  caters  to  the  needs  of  the  e-vehicles  which  is currently the need of the hour helping to minimize the harmful impact on the environment. The effect of this solution on the energy, electric vehicle transportation system, and utilities sector will be significant.  This recycling process was unique in the sense that we directly recovered  cathodic  material  as  the  end  product.  The  cathodic  content  that  is  recovered requires  minimal  post-processing  steps  before  being  stacked  in a battery.  The  process  is comparatively   simple   and   cost-effective   than   traditional   methods.   The   team   at   IIT Bhubaneswar would like to see that this process gets implemented in the future to serve the energy needs of the country.


About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Schedule for Bye-election in Assembly Constituencies of Maharashtra, Bihar, Haryana, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Odisha

Newdelhi:4/10/22:The Commission has decided to hold the bye-election to fill vacancies in the following Assembly Constituencies of Maharashtra, Bihar, Haryana, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Odisha: – Sl. No. Name of ...