Home » State News » Dr Shyamamani Devi and Upendra Panigrahi will be conferred with Kabi Samrat Upendra Bhanja saman

Dr Shyamamani Devi and Upendra Panigrahi will be conferred with Kabi Samrat Upendra Bhanja saman

Bhubaneswar26/10/19: The Odisha Sangeet Natak Akademi awards for the year 2017-18 and 2018-19 have been announced today.

Renowned Odissi vocalist Dr Shyamamani Devi and Daskathia maestro Upendra Panigrahi will be conferred with the prestigious Kabi Samrat Upendra Bhanja Award of the Akademi for the year 2017-18.

Besides, other artistes will be honoured with the State Akademi awards, along with the certificate and cash reward at Ravindra Mandap in Bhubaneswar soon.

Artistes excelling in their respective fields will be awarded for their work in different categories including music, dance and drama.

Here’s the list of artists who have been selected for the awards in 15 different categories for the year 2017-18 and 2018-19.


  1. Odisha Vocal Music: Santilata Barik Chhotray
  2. Hindustani Vocal Music: Alaka Chand
  3. Instrumental Music (string instrument): Ravishankar Pradhan
  4. Instrumental Music(Percussion): Kalindi Charan Parida
  5. Light Classical Music: Sudha Mishra
  6. Folk Instrument: Alok Prakash Das
  7. Folk Music: Gobinda Chandra Panigrahi
  8. Script Writing: Hemendra Mohapatra
  9. Acting (2nos): Brundaban Barik, Bidyut Prabha Patnaik
  10. Direction: Prasanna Mishra
  11. Stage Craft: Antarjyami Panda
  12. Odissi Dance: Brajakishore Mallick
  13. Folk Dance: Neelkantha Tarai

14.Folk Drama: Keshranjan Pradhan

  1. Geeti Kabita: Minakshi Devi


  1. Odisha Vocal Music: Simanchal Das
  2. Hindustani Vocal Music: Harihar Rath
  3. Instrumental Music (String instrument): Ramesh Chandra Das
  4. Instrumental Music (Percussion): Radha Kanta Nanda
  5. Light Classical Music: Geeta Dash
  6. Folk Instrument: Santosh Suna
  7. Folk Music: Bithika Chatterjee
  8. Script Writing: Sudhansu Nayak
  9. Acting (2nos): Niranjan Sahu, Laxmipriya Mishra
  10. Direction: Haren Kumar Sahu
  11. Stage Craft: Sangram Keshari Maharana
  12. Odissi Dance: Meera Das
  13. Folk Dance: Maguni Jena
  14. Folk Drama: Bijay Kumar Bahali

15.Geeti Kabita: Badri Mishra

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Check Also

ICC signs MoU with Odisha govt, RITES to undertake to study on the logistics infrastructure of state

Bhubaneswar: 8/12/21: Indian Chamber of Commerce (ICC) has decided to undertake a unique study on the logistics infrastructure of Odisha which covers all modes of transport like road, rail, inland ...