Home » State News » DGP Dr. Rajendra Prasad Sharma has been named as a member of the Lokayukta.

DGP Dr. Rajendra Prasad Sharma has been named as a member of the Lokayukta.

Bhubaneswar:6/8/19: Odisha Director General of Police (DGP) Dr. Rajendra Prasad Sharma has been named as a member of the Lokayukta.

Governor Professor Ganeshi Lal has approved the name of Sharma for the membership of Lokayukta, said sources.

The Governor has formally nodded to the proposal of Lokayukta Selection Committee that had earlier recommended Sharma’s name, sources added.

The five-member constitutional body, headed by former Chief Justice of Gauhati High Court Ajit Singh, took charge in March this year. The other two members are- retired Justice BK Nayak and former IFS officer Debabrata Swain.

Meanwhile, the state government has already started the exercise of selecting new DGP. The government has sent a list of the probable senior IPS officers of Odisha cadre to the special panel of Supreme Court for its selection in pursuance of the apex court’s standing order for appointing a new DGP of any state.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Union Minister Dr Jitendra Singh asks State Governments to facilitate the Central Deputation of IAS and other All India Services officers

Newdelhi:28/9/22:Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Science & Technology; Minister of State (Independent Charge) Earth Sciences; MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances, Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh today ...