Home » Sports » East Bengal Club turns 100 years today
Kolkata: Former Indian cricket team captains Kapil Dev and Sourav Ganguly with football player Sunil Chhetri during centenary celebrations of East Bengal Club in Kolkata , Thursday, Aug 1, 2019. (PTI Photo/Ashok Bhaumik)(PTI8_1_2019_000184B)

East Bengal Club turns 100 years today

Kolkota:1/8/19:Football Giant East Bengal Club turns 100 years today. On this day in 1920 East Bengal Club was established at Kumartuli Park in North Kolkata.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee inaugurated the centenary year celebrations at a glittering function in Kolkata this evening. Speaking on the occasion Ms. Banerjee recalled glorious contribution of the East Bengal Club for popularizing football game in the country.

She said that the State Sports Department will also organize special programmes to mark the Centenary of East Bengal Club. Former Indian Cricket Captain Kapil Dev was given ‘Bharat Gourav’ Award at the function.

Former footballer Manaranjan Bhattacherjee and Bhaskar Ganguli were presented Life Time Achievement Awards and P. K. Banerjee was given best football coach of the Century award. The State Sports Minister Mr. Arup Biswas, Former Indian Cricket Captain Sourav Ganguly, present and past players were present at the function.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Schedule for Bye-election in Assembly Constituencies of Maharashtra, Bihar, Haryana, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Odisha

Newdelhi:4/10/22:The Commission has decided to hold the bye-election to fill vacancies in the following Assembly Constituencies of Maharashtra, Bihar, Haryana, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Odisha: – Sl. No. Name of ...