Home » District Diary » Elections to the Patkura Assembly seat will be held on July 20

Elections to the Patkura Assembly seat will be held on July 20

Bhubaneswar: 4/7/19:Elections to the Patkura Assembly seat under Kendrapara Parliamentary constituency will be held on July 20. With the announcement of the poll schedule, the model code of conduct comes into force.

As per the notification of the Election Commission of India, while election will be held on July 20, counting of votes will be done on July 24.

Notably, election to the Assembly seat was earlier scheduled to be held on April 29 – the last phase of the four-phased elections in the State.

However, the election was countermanded following the death of BJD candidate Bed Prakash Agarwal on April 20. Election was also postponed by the ECI for 60 days due to cyclone Fani that hit the State on May 3 wreaking havoc in coastal districts of the State.

BJD has fielded Bed Prakash Agarwal’s wife for the seat. Senior leader Bijoy Mohapatra is contesting from the seat on BJP ticket.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Check Also

Odisha Chief Secy Inaugurates Debasis Panigrahi Memorial Auditorium

Bhubaneswar: 29/11/21:State level conference of the Chief Vigilance Officers (CVOs) was inaugurated today in State Vigilance Academy by Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mahapatra in the presence of Director General of ...