Home » State News » Three candidates from Odisha elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Three candidates from Odisha elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Bhubaneswar:28/6/19: Two candidates of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and one from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) were elected to the Rajya Sabha in Odisha without contest.

While BJD candidates Sasmit Patra and Amar Patnaik were elected to the Upper House, BJP’s Ashwini Vaishnaw elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha in the polls held today.

As there were only three candidates from three vacant seats for the Rajya Sabha polls, returning officer for the Rajya Sabha by-polls Dasarathi Satpathy declared them winners.

The by-polls were necessitated after BJD’s Achyutananda Samanta, Pratap Keshari Deb and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik resigned from their posts to contest the Lok Sabha polls.

However, the by-poll to the seat fell vacant after the resignation of former Rajya Saha MP Anubhav Mohanty was not conducted as less than one year left for the completion of his tenure.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Check Also

Assamese poet Nilmani Phukan, Konkani writer Damodar Mauzo win Jnanpith Awards

Mauzo, writing in Konkani for over three decades, has many awards to his credit for his novels and short story collection. While Nilmani Phookan Jr is considered to be one ...