Home » State News » Newly elected members of Odisha Assembly began taking the oath

Newly elected members of Odisha Assembly began taking the oath

Bhubaneswar:30 /5/19:A day after Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and his 20-member team were sworn-in during a ceremony, the newly elected members of Odisha Assembly began taking the oath today.

Senior BJD MLA Amar Prasad Satpathy, who was appointed as the pro tem speaker, administered oath to the legislators including CM Patnaik in the House. The swearing-in ceremony will continue till 5.00 pm tomorrow in Assembly.

Satpathy was sworn-in as the pro tem speaker in presence of CM Patnaik during the oath taking ceremony on Wednesday. He was the government chief whip of the last (15th) Assembly.

Worth mentioning, the ruling BJD has nominated senior party leader Surjya Narayan Patro for the post of Speaker. As the party has majority in the House, He will be elected by the members of assembly on June 1.

About Ashok Palit

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also


Odisha cop beats coronavirus, CP Sudhanshu Sarangi welcomes

Bhubaneswar:26/5/20:: A staff of Cuttack-Bhubaneswar Commissionerate Police received a hero’s welcome on Monday after recovering from the highly contagious COVID-19 disease. This information was shared by the Commissionerate Police on ...