Home » National » Newly-elected BJP MPs meet today to formally elect PM Modi as their leader
New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi meets President Ram Nath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi, Friday, May 24, 2019. The Prime Minister tendered his resignation along with the Union Council of Ministers. (PTI Photo)(PTI5_24_2019_000223B)

Newly-elected BJP MPs meet today to formally elect PM Modi as their leader

Newdelhi:25/5/19:Efforts to form a new government at the Centre has gained momentum. BJP parliamentary party will meet in New Delhi today to formally elect Prime Minister Narendra Modi as its leader.

After this, Mr Modi will be elected leader of the newly elected NDA MPs in a meeting at the Central Hall of Parliament in the evening. Prime Minister is also expected to address the gathering.

Mr Modi yesterday called on President Ram Nath Kovind and tendered his resignation along with his council of ministers. The President accepted the resignation and asked Prime Minister and his council of ministers to continue till a new government is formed.

President Ram Nath Kovind hosted a dinner for the members of outgoing Council of Ministers at Rashtrapati Bhavan last night. Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Ministers including Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj and Nitin Gadkari were present on the occasion.

Earlier yesterday, Union Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister recommended the dissolution of 16th Lok Sabha. After the meeting, Mr Modi also participated in a meeting of the council of ministers, which expressed its gratitude to the Prime Minister. Mr Modi also appreciated the role of his colleagues and their contribution.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah met party veterans Lal Krishna Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi, a day after BJP led NDA secured a landslide victory in Lok Sabha elections. Prime Minister visited Mr Advani’s residence and sought his blessings.

In a tweet, Mr Modi said the BJP’s successes today are possible because greats like Mr Advani and Mr Joshi spent decades building the party and providing a fresh ideological narrative to the people. Mr. Joshi also congratulated Mr Modi on his victory.

Formation of the new government will kick off after the election commission notification which will have the names of newly elected Lok Sabha MPs.

Once the notification gets President Ram Nath Kovind’s approval, the process of constitution of 17th Lok Sabha will formally begin. Election Commission is likely to meet today to finalise the list of winning candidates to be handed over to the President.

The EC sources said once the list is finalised, the three commissioners will seek an appointment with the president. The term of the present Lok Sabha ends on June 3.

Polls were held in 542 of the 543 seats and the election in Vellore parliamentary seat was cancelled by the Election commission citing excessive use of money power. BJP has won 303 seats surpassing its previous record of 282 in 2014. The BJP-led NDA has secured 351 seats as against their previous tally of 336.

The UPA got 90 seats. This is the first time that a non-Congress party will take over at the Centre for the second term consecutively.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL) Posts Best Ever Production Performance

New Delhi: 28/9/22: Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL) held its 50th Annual General Meeting, today at Company’s headquarter in  New Delhi. Smt. Soma Mondal, Chairman, SAIL addressed the shareholders ...