Home » State News » Voting for the phase IV polls in Odisha has been delayed as EVMs & VVPAT glitches at several polling booths

Voting for the phase IV polls in Odisha has been delayed as EVMs & VVPAT glitches at several polling booths

Bhubaneswar:29/4/19: Voting for the phase IV polls in Odisha has been delayed as the electronic voting machines (EVMs) and voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) equipment developed glitches at several polling booths on Monday morning.

According to sources, voting has been delayed at booth number 181 following an EVM malfunction under Dhamnagar Assembly constituency in Bhadrak. Besides, voting is yet to begin at booth no 68 in Rajanagar of Kendrapara LS constituency due to EVM snag.

Delayed voting has been reported at booth no 5 in Ulumara panchayat and Natakata panchayat’s booth no 203 in Balasore due to glitches in VVPAT machines.

Delayed polling was also reported at booth number 71, 183, 198, 220 in Bhandaripokhari, Dhamnagar (booth no 222, 244, 245, 54, 243), Soro (booth no 2, 46, 208,50), Simulia (booth no 119, 109, 110), Basudevpur (booth no 69,114,116), Chandbali (booth no 216, 14, 239) in Bhadrak due to EVM glitches.

Voting in multiple booths in Mayurbhanj- booth no 34 & 35 in Baripada, Bangiriposhi (booth no 33), Badasahi (booth no 101, 22), Rairangpur (booth no 142, 142, 197), Saraskana (booth no 39 & 60) has also been reportedly delayed due to similar reasons.

Similarly, tension prevailed in Kendrapara district after resentment sparked among voters following technical snag in EVM at booth no 226 in Rajanagar district. Voting was delayed at booth no 226 and 128 in Aul and booth no 213 in Aienda of Mahanga due to EVM malfunction.

On the other hand, Jajpur district Collector reached booth no. 116 in Bahabalpur following reports of technical glitch of EVMs, sources said. Similar reports also came from booth no 115 of Dharmasala, booth no 110 of Bari and booth no 96 of Jajpur following a technical snag in EVMs.

As per available reports, voting has been delayed in booth no 219, 268 in Kakatpur, booth no 42, 66 of Nimapara, booth no 214 in Paradip, multiple places in Kujanga due to EVM glitches.

The situation was no different in booth no 235 of Balikuda-Ersama in Jagatsinghpur district where EVM failure followed by faulty VVPAT machine delayed polling process. Reportedly, the polling started at 8.30 am after replacement of the faulty machine

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Srabani Nanda was awarded cash prizes to the tune of Rs 9.40 lakh for her outstanding performance in the 37th National Games 2023

Bhubaneswar:2/12/23: Athlete Srabani Nanda was today awarded cash prizes to the tune of Rs 9.40 lakh by the Sports and Youth Services Department for her outstanding performance in the 37th ...