Home » National » Elaborate arrangements are being made for the smooth conduct of the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections

Elaborate arrangements are being made for the smooth conduct of the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections

Newdelhi:28/4/19:Elaborate arrangements are being made for the smooth conduct of the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections tomorrow.

71 Parliamentary constituencies spread over nine states, and Kulgam district of Anantnag Lok Sabha seat in Jammu and Kashmir will go to polls in this phase.

Voting will be held for 17 Parliamentary seats in Maharashtra; 13 each in Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh; eight in West Bengal; six each in Madhya Pradesh and Odisha; five in Bihar; and three in Jharkhand in this phase.

The prominent candidates in the fray include Union Ministers Giriraj Singh, S.S. Ahluwalia, Babul Supriyo, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, P.P Chaudhary, Dr. Subhash Bhamre and Sudershan Bhagat, Samajwadi Party President Akhilesh Yadav’s wife Dimple Yadav, film actor Urmila Matondkar, BJP Bihar unit chief Nityanand Roy, RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha and former JNU student leader Kanhaiya Kumar.

Polling will also be held for the remaining 42 assembly seats in Odisha tomorrow, besides, by-election to Chhindwara assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh, Nighasan in Uttar Pradesh, and Krishnaganj in West Bengal.

In Maharashtra, the 17 constituencies going to polls are all the six seats from Mumbai, Thane, Kalyan, Bhiwandi, Nashik, Palghar, Maval, Shirdi, Ratnagiri & Sindhudurg, Shirur, Dindori and Nandurbar.

In Bihar, polling will take place in Darbhanga, Ujjiarpur, Samastipur, Begusarai and Munger. Our correspondent reports that 66 candidates, including three women, are in the fray. Twenty-one Independent candidates are also contesting.

In Jammu and Kashmir, over 3.45 lakh voters are going to exercise their franchise in Kulgam district. The district is spread over four assembly segments comprising Noorabad, Kulgam, Hom Shali Bugh and Devsar.

Voting will start at 7 am and end at 4 pm. Prominent candidates include PDP President Mehbooba Mufti, State Congress President G A Mir and Hasnain Masoodi of National Conference.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

HM Amit Shah launched Odisha edition of Modi@20: Dreams Meet Delivery’

Bhubaneswar:8/8/22:Union Home Minister Amit Shah launched Odisha edition of ‘Modi@20: Dreams Meet Delivery’, a book on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s completion of 20 years in office – from becoming the ...