Home » State News » Elections to 6 Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly seats in the third phase began in Odisha

Elections to 6 Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly seats in the third phase began in Odisha

Bhubaneswar:23/4/19: Elections to 6 Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly seats in the third phase began in Odisha on Tuesday.

A total of 92,56,922 voters comprising 47,99,030 male, 44,56,729 women and 1163 transgenders will decide the fate of 417 candidates.

For the six Lok Sabha seats, 61 candidates including six women are in the fray while of 356 candidates, 37 are women and one transgender are contesting 42 Assembly seats.

The polling is underway in 10,464 booths in six Lok Sabha seats of Sambalpur (General), Keonjhar (ST), Dhenkanal (General), Cuttack (General), Bhubaneswar (General) and Puri (General) and 42 Assembly seats of Kuchinda (ST), Rengali (SC), Sambalpur (General), Redhakhol (General), Deogarh (General), Chhendipada (SC), Athamallik (General), Telkoi (ST), Ghasipura (General), Anandpur (SC), Patana (ST), Keonjhar (ST), Champua (General), Karanjia (ST), Dhenkanal (General), Hindol (SC), Kamakhyanagar (General), Parjang (General), Pallahara (General), Talcher (General), Angul (General), Badamba (General), Banki (General), Athagarh (General), Cuttack-Barabati (General), Choudwar-Cuttack (General), Cuttack Sadar (SC), Khandapada (General), Puri (General), Brahmagiri (General), Satyabadi (General), Pipili (General), Chilika (General), Ranpur (General), Nayagarh (General), Jayadeb (General), Bhubaneswar-Central (General), Bhubaneswar-North (General), Bhubaneswar-Ekamra (General), Jatni (General), Begunia (General) and Khurda (General).



Barring the booths in the Maoist prone districts where polling will be held from 7 am to 4 pm, polling in the remaining booths will be held from 7 am to 6 pm.

Out of 10,464 booths, 3186 have been identified as ‘sensitive’ of which CCTV cameras have been installed in 779 booths. Besides, videography will be done in 372 booths while webcasting will be done in 260 booths.

To ensure smooth polling, 600 personnel of the Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) in the sensitive booths have been deployed in the Maoist prone areas.

To assist the physically challenged voters, arrangements for wheelchairs have been made in 9576 booths.

A total of 68,422 polling officials are being engaged in the polling booths.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Union Minister Dr Jitendra Singh asks State Governments to facilitate the Central Deputation of IAS and other All India Services officers

Newdelhi:28/9/22:Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Science & Technology; Minister of State (Independent Charge) Earth Sciences; MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances, Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh today ...