Home » Politics » Candidate list for the coming Assembly and Lok Sabha elections was cleared by the PCC Election Committee

Candidate list for the coming Assembly and Lok Sabha elections was cleared by the PCC Election Committee

Bhubaneswar: The candidate list for the coming Assembly and Lok Sabha elections was today cleared by the Pradesh Congress Election Committee and sent to the AICC screening committee for scrutiny.

Pradesh Congress Committee president Niranjan Patnaik said that the Pradesh Election Committee today cleared the candidate list for all 147 Assembly and 21 Lok Sabha seats of the state. The final list will be published after scrutiny and approval by the high command.

AICC Odisha in-charge Jitendra Singh, PCC president Niranjan Patnaik, senior party leaders of the state and PEC members were present at the meeting.

PCC working president Pradip Majhi said that priority was given to the recommendations  of the district level committees.

Party spokesperson Satya Prakash Nayak told the Odisha Sun Times that opinions were expressed at today’s meeting to give more representation to women and youth. However, winnability would be the main criterion.

Earlier, names of 44 candidates including all the sitting party MLAs and a few senior party leaders were cleared in the first phase.

Party insiders say that the candidate list cleared today bore the names of around two to three candidates for each of the constituencies. Now the ball  has been sent to the AICC court.

Heavy rush of party ticket aspirants was witnessed at the party’s state headquarters and the residence of PCC president Niranjan Patnaik and other senior leaders here for the last few days. Now the rush here is expected to be over as the nomination process has been shifted to Delhi.

Here is the list of the candidates for Lok Sabha seats:

  1. Bhadrak-Ananta Sethi
  2. Bargarh-Sanjay Bhoi
  3. Nabajyoti Patnaik (son of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee president Niranjan Patnaik)
  4. Cuttack-Panchanan Kanungo/ Bijayalaxmi Sahoo
  5. Dhenkanal-KP Singh Deo
  6. Balangir-Smarendra Mishra/Laxman Kumar Meher
  7. Kendrapara-Dhranidhara Naik
  8. Nabarangpur- Pradeep Majhi
  9. Koraput-Purushottam Gomang/ Mary Soren/ Saptagiri Ulaka
  10. Jagatsingpur- Bibhu Prasad Tarai
  11. Sundergarh- George Tirkey/Hemananda Biswal
  12. Berhampur-Deepak Patnaik/ Tirupati Panigrahi
  13. Puri-Amaiya Patnaik/Sucharita Mohanty
  14. Sambalpur- Sarat Patnaik/Amar Pradhan
  15. Keonjhar-Haramahon Soren/Binita Majhi
  16. Kalahandi- Bhakta Charan Das/Jagannath Patnaik
  17. Kandhamal- Manoj Kumar Acharya/Chandra Sekhar Parida18 Jajpur-Arjun Charan Dash/Manas Jena


About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Union Minister Dr Jitendra Singh asks State Governments to facilitate the Central Deputation of IAS and other All India Services officers

Newdelhi:28/9/22:Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Science & Technology; Minister of State (Independent Charge) Earth Sciences; MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances, Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh today ...