Home » Business » Jindal Steel & Power begins 30th Year Commemoration at Angul

Jindal Steel & Power begins 30th Year Commemoration at Angul

  • Entire Jindal Family gathered at Angul to mark the grand occasion
  • 74 employees felicitated for their more than 25 years of Service
  • Quintessential performance by renowned artists, including kuchipudi dance recital by Smt. Shallu Jindal, wows the audience

Angul, March 02, 2019:

Jindal Steel & Power Ltd (JSPL), one of the leading business conglomerates with significant presence in core infrastructure sectors including steel, power and mining in India and abroad, commenced commemoration of 30 years of its business excellence at its mega steel making facility at Angul on 1st March. On the occasion, a scintillating cultural programme with classical dances was organized at the premises of Temple in Jindal Nagar. The Company also honoured 74 employees who are working with it for more than last 25 years.

Chairperson Emeritus of OP Jindal Group Smt. Savitri Jindal, Chairman of Jindal SAW Shri Pritvi Raj Jindal, Smt. Aarti Jindal, Chairman of JSW Group Sajjan Jindal, Smt. Sangita Jindal, Chairman of Jindal Stainless Ltd Shri Rattan Jindal, Chairman of JSPL Shri Naveen Jindal, Co-Chairperson of JSPL Foundation Smt. Shallu Jindal, Shri Manomohan Goel, Smt. Nirmala Goel, Shri Venkatesh Jindal, Smt. Urmila Bhuwalka, Shri Sushil Bhuwalka, Smt. Sarika Jhunjhunwala, Ms. Avisha Jhunjhunwala, Smt. Seema Jindal, Smt. Saroj Bhartiya, Shri. Kamal Bhartiya, Ms. Avisha Jhunjhunwala, Jt. MD of JSPL Shri NA Ansari and CEO of JSPL Shri Sudhansu Saraf joined the grand occasion along with other member of Shri O P Jindal Family and other senior officials of JSPL.

Speaking on the occasion Chairman of JSPL Shri Naveen Jindal said, “JSPL is a result of Shri OP Jindal’s vision of building a self-reliant India in every industrial sector. With a humble beginning at Raigarh in 1989, JSPL has emerged successful in its quest for building a nation of our dream. It now a dominant player in business landscape across multiple sectors of Indian economy, including Steel, Power, infrastructure, mining and cement. We are thankful for support various people during this 30 years journey of JSPL”. He thanked all the employees, workers and local community for their dedication and support in building and operation of state the art factories and mines across India and outside.


Renowned artists from various part of the Country performed in the exhilarating cultural programme, Nritya Sangam, at the Temple premises in the Dev Bhoomi. Renowned artists from different parts of the country presented magnificent dances such as Pung Cholam, Kuchipudi, Mohiniyattam, Odissi and Kathak. Co-Founder of JSPL Foundation, Smt. Shallu Jindal’s Kuchipudi recital enthralled the audience.

Smt. Shallu Jindal thanked each workmen and artisans who contributed in building the grand temple with their skill and sweat. She also expressed her deep gratitude for the digniataries from Govt , Media , Academia , Development Organisations and Mahila Samitis and local opinion makers and community members who graced the 30th year commemoration event .

The journey of JSPL was started in 1989 by legendary industrialist and visionary Shri Om Prakash Jindal with laying of foundation of a 0.3 MTPA DRI Plant at Raigarh. During this 30 years of journey, JSPL has spread its footprints across three States in India, including Odisha and overseas which includes Oman, Australia, Mozambique and South Africa. Led by Shri Naveen Jindal jim JSPL has created cutting-edge capacities to produce 11.6 Million Tonne Per Annum steel and 5034 MW power. The Company now operates some of India’s most advanced steel manufacturing and power generation capacities of global scale. This also includes Odisha’s largest steel making complex of 6 MTPA Capacity at Angul and India’s largest Palletization complex of 9 MTPA capacity at Barbil in Keonjhar district.

Under the leadership of its Chairman Shri Naveen Jindal, JSPL is ‘Making in India’ and has illuminated millions of lives, creating new opportunities to build a better tomorrow. Through its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) arm, JSPL Foundation, the Company has made significant investments in socio-economic development of community, especially those living around its operational areas. JSPL Foundation has initiated several innovative and high impact development programmes in the areas of healthcare, nutrition, skill development, education, women empowerment, promotion of art & culture, Sports, rural infrastructure building and other areas across various parts of the Country.

The 30 years commemorative programme will continue at Raigarh City on March 02, 2019 and beyond

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Schedule for Bye-election in Assembly Constituencies of Maharashtra, Bihar, Haryana, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Odisha

Newdelhi:4/10/22:The Commission has decided to hold the bye-election to fill vacancies in the following Assembly Constituencies of Maharashtra, Bihar, Haryana, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Odisha: – Sl. No. Name of ...