Home » Uncategorized » Lokayukta selection committee has unanimously selected the name of Lokayukta Chairperson

Lokayukta selection committee has unanimously selected the name of Lokayukta Chairperson

Bhubaneswar:13/2/19 :The Lokayukta selection committee has unanimously selected the name of Lokayukta Chairperson in a meeting held in Odisha capital, a top official said.

The committee will send the name to Governor Prof. Ganeshi Lal for his approval. “Selection committee has unanimously selected Lokayukta chairperson at a meeting held today and the name will be sent to the Honourable Governor. The name of will announced following his approval,” Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi told reporters soon after the meeting at State Guest House here this afternoon.

The meeting was held under the chairmanship of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. The first meeting of the Selection Committee for the appointment of Lokayukta was held on last Saturday evening.

Among others who were present at the meeting are State Assembly Speaker Pradip Amat, Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra, High Court Chief Justice KS Jhaveri, Chief Secretary AP Padhi and General Administration Secretary AK Meena.

Earlier in the month, the State government had submitted an affidavit in the Supreme Court stating that Lokayukta will take charge in the state on April 8.

The affidavit, submitted by the Chief Secretary, also mentioned that the appointment of Lokayukta will be done by March 31.Notably, Odisha became the first state to pass the Lokayukta Bill on February 14, 2014, after the Lokpal Bill was cleared by Parliament in December, 2013.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Check Also

Akshaya Chandra Ray Memorial Award for 2021

Bhubaneswar:5/12/21:Pratibha Ray Foundation Trust & Adya Prakashani have announced the Second Akshaya Chandra Ray Memorial award in the category of Novel(Odia) for 2021. The award, instituted in 2020 and reflecting ...