Home » Sports » NATIONAL SPORTS AWARDS -2018 announced; Mirabai Chanu and Virat Kohli to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

NATIONAL SPORTS AWARDS -2018 announced; Mirabai Chanu and Virat Kohli to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

Newdelhi:20/9/18:National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four year, Arjuna Award is given for consistency outstanding performance for four years, Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events, Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar  is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committees consisting of former Olympian, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, Sport Journalists/ Experts/ Commentators and sports administrators. Selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Justice (Ms.) Indermeet Kaur Kochhar (Former Judge of High Court of Delhi High Court). Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Justice Mr. Mukul Mudgal (Former Chief Justice, High Court of Punjab & Haryana High Court).  Selection Committee for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was headed by Shri Rahul Bhatnagar, Secretary (Sports). Selection Committee for MAKA Trophy was headed by Shri Ashok Kumar, former Olympian.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons, coaches and entities:

(i)         Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2018

S. No. Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
1. Ms. S. Mirabai Chanu Weightlifting
2. Shri Virat Kohli Cricket

(ii)        Dronacharya Awards 2018

S. No. Name of the Coach Discipline
Subedar  Chenanda Achaiah  Kuttappa Boxing
Shri Vijay Sharma Weightlifting
Shri A. Srinivasa Rao Table Tennis
Shri Sukhdev  Singh  Pannu Athletics
Shri Clarence Lobo Hockey (Life Time)
Shri Tarak Sinha Cricket (Life Time)
Shri Jiwan Kumar Sharma Judo (Life Time)
Shri V.R. Beedu Athletics (Life Time)


(iii)       Arjuna Awards 2018

S. No. Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
Shri Neeraj Chopra Athletics
Naib Subedar Jinson Johnson Athletics
Ms. Hima Das Athletics
Ms. Nelakurthi Sikki Reddy Badminton
Subedar Satish Kumar Boxing
Ms. Smriti Mandhana Cricket
Shri Shubhankar Sharma Golf
Shri Manpreet Singh Hockey
Ms. Savita Hockey
Col. Ravi Rathore Polo
Ms. Rahi Sarnobat Shooting
Shri Ankur Mittal Shooting
Ms. Shreyasi Singh Shooting
Ms. Manika Batra Table Tennis
Shri G. Sathiyan Table Tennis
Shri Rohan Bopanna Tennis
Shri Sumit Wrestling
Ms. Pooja Kadian Wushu
Shri Ankur Dhama Para-Athletics
Shri Manoj Sarkar Para-Badminton

(iv)      Dhyan Chand Award 2018

S. No. Name of the Sportsperson Discipline
Shri Satyadev Prasad Archery
Shri Bharat Kumar Chetri Hockey
Ms. Bobby Aloysius Athletics
Shri Chougale Dadu Dattatray Wrestling

(vi) Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2018

S. No. Category Name of the entity
1. Identification and Nurturing of Budding & Young Talent Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited
2. Encouragement to Sports through Corporate Social Responsibility JSW Sports
3. Sports for Development Isha Outreach

(vii) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2017-18: 

Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on 25th September, 2018.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each. A trophy and citation is given to the entity in the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2018. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Famous ‘Rukuna Rath Yatra’ of Lord Lingaraj has commenced in capital city on Wednesday

Bhubaneswar:29/3/23: The famous ‘Rukuna Rath Yatra’ of Lord Lingaraj has commenced in capital city Bhubaneswar today that is on Wednesday. The chariot pulling will begin at 3:30 p.m. The Mangala ...