Home » State News » Odisha Legislative Assembly felicitated 24 MLAs on 24 August 2018

Odisha Legislative Assembly felicitated 24 MLAs on 24 August 2018

Bhubaneswar:24/8/18 The Odisha Legislative Assembly felicitated 24 MLAs with the Best Legislator Award at a function here on Friday. The selected MLAs were given the awards in three categories for their notable performance.

The three categories are: Pandit Nilakantha Samman, Utkalmani Gopabandhu Samman and Utkal Gourab Madhusudan Samman.

The award had not been presented to the legislators for last nine years.


Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Speaker Pradip Amat presented the awards to the best legislators from 2009 to 2016.


Addressing the gathering, the Chief Minister said, “I am glad that Odisha Legislative Assembly has maintained the high tradition of honouring distinguished legislators for their contribution to enrich our parliamentary democracy.”

Pandit Nilakantha Samman was given to Bishnu Charan Das for the year 2009, Arun Kumar Sahoo (2010), Pravat Ranjan Biswal (2011), Prafulla Majhi (2012), Amar Prasad Satpathy (2013), Pramila Mallick (2014), Ranendra Pratap Swain (2015) and Dr Ramesh Chandra Chyau Patnaik for the year 2016.


Utkal Gourab Madhusudan Samman was awarded to Surendra Nath Naik (2009), Bimbadhar Kuanr (2010), Nityananda Pradhan (2011), Umesh Chandra Swain (2012), Bikram Keshari Barma (2013), Rajendra Dholakia (2014), Surendra Prasad Pramanik (2015) and Chakradhar Paik (2016).

Similarly, Utkalmani Gopabandhu Samman was conferred on Sanjay Dasburma for 2009, Pritiranjan Gharai (2010), Samir Ranjan Dash (2011), Prashant Kumar Muduli (2012), Bijay Kumar Mohanty (2013), Dr. Raseswari Panigrahi (2014), Captain Dibya Shankar Mishra (2015) and Pradip Purohit for 2016.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Gopalpur MLA Pradeep Panigrahi has joined the Bharatiya Janata Party

Bhubaneswar: 21/2/24:Gopalpur MLA Pradeep Panigrahi, who was expelled from Biju Janata Dal (BJD) four years ago, joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday ahead of the twin elections in ...