Home » National » BJD leader and Cuttack MP Bhartruhari Mahtab was conferred as Outstanding Parliamentarian Award for 2017

BJD leader and Cuttack MP Bhartruhari Mahtab was conferred as Outstanding Parliamentarian Award for 2017

Cuttack: 1/8/18:BJD leader and Cuttack MP Bhartruhari Mahtab was on Wednesday conferred the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award for 2017 by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Four others MPs were also felicitated with outstanding parliamentarian awards by Kovind at a function in the Parliament House. They are leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad, Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla, Trinamool Congress MP Dinesh Trivedi and Lok Sabha member Hukumdev Narayan Yadav.

While Heptulla received the award for the year 2013, Yadav got the award for 2014, Azad for 2015, Trivedi for 2016 and Mahtab for 2017.

The names were selected by a panel headed by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

The awards were instituted in 1995 and past recipients include former prime ministers Chandra Shekhar and Manmohan Singh, former president Pranab Mukherjee, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, former Lok Sabha speaker Somnath Chatterjee, NCP supremo Sharad Pawar and BJP leader Advani.

The function was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu and Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

A Bhumiputra will rule the land of Utkala Bhumi, not a Tamil babu:Amit Shah

Sambalpur:21/5/24: Union Home Minister Amit Shah Tuesday reached Sambalpur for BJP’s Lok Sabha poll campaign in Odisha. Launching a direct attack on the 25-year rule of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik ...