Home » Education » Fifth Annual Convocation of the students of National Law University, Odisha was held

Fifth Annual Convocation of the students of National Law University, Odisha was held

Cuttack:29/7/18:The Fifth Annual Convocation of the students of National Law University, Odisha (NLUOdisha) was held on 29 July 2018 at the Amphitheatre of National Law University Odisha, Cuttack. Hon’ble Mr. Justice Dipak Misra, Chief Justice of India and Visitor NLU Odisha presided over the occasion and delivered the Presidential Address. Hon’ble Mr. Justice Michael Kirby, Former Judge, High Court of Australiawas the Chief Guest for the occasion and delivered the Convocation Address. Justice Kirby was also conferred with the Degree of Doctor of Laws (LLD) (Honoris Causa) by the university. Hon’ble Mr. Justice Vineet Saran, Chief Justice of Odisha High Court and Chancellor, NLUOdishaawarded the degrees and also address the gathering.Sitting Judges of High Court of Orissa, Senior Advocates, Judicial Officers were among the other dignitaries present.


A total of 167 graduands were awarded degrees, including 49 LLMcandidates, and 118 from undergraduate courses – 57 and 59 candidates respectively from the BA LLB and BBA LLB streams. Additionally, Justice Kirby was awarded the degree ofDoctor of Laws (LL.D.) honoris causa.A total number of 18 gold medals were given to students in the convocation this year.The Convocation Address was delivered by Hon’ble Justice Michael Kirby, Chief Justice of India and Chief Guest for the occasion.

Out of the 18 gold medals, NLU Odisha has instituted six, while various dignitaries of the legal fraternity have donated the remaining twelve.Ms. Meghmala Mukherjee received the highest number of gold medals- sevengold medals.She was awarded the M.L. Mitra Memorial Gold Medal for first rank in B.B.A L.L.B (Hons.), SKS Juris Legal Group Gold Medal, Gagan Bihari Das Memorial Gold Medal, Ras Behari Ray Gold Medal, Nisamoni Devi and Bhagabat Charan Mohanty Memorial Gold Medal, Satyakamal Memorial Gold Medaland the Smt. Pavani Easwara Lakshmi Memorial Gold Medal

Ms. Diya Dasgupta was awarded three gold medals – University Gold Medal for third rank in BA LLB, State Bank of India Gold Medal and the Ananta Misra & Annapurna Misra Gold Medalfor Best All-Round Female Student.


The Dinabandhu Sahu Memorial Trustfor first rank in BALLB was awarded to Shobhit Ahuja. The University Gold Medal for second rank in BA LLB was awarded to Swastika Chakravarti. University Gold Medals for second and third rank in BBA LLB were awarded to Vinti Agarwal and Ankita Sen. The Shri Bichitrananda Mahanty Memorial Gold Medal for All-Round Male Student was awarded to Vishesh Mehrotra, the Madhusudan Mohanty Memorial Gold Medalto S. Vivek, and the University Gold Medal for Highest Score in Intellectual Property Laws in the B.B.A.,LL.B. (Hons.) /B.A.,LL.B. (Hons.) Degree was awarded to Shreya Singhal. The University Gold Medal for the first rank in L.L.M for batch 2017-18 was awarded to Bhallamudi Venkata Mallela Rakshith.

The Registrar of NLUOdisha Dr. Dolly Jabbal, a host of dignitaries from the legal fraternity, parents of students, staff of NLUO were also present in the occasion. Three journals – NLUO Law Journal, Human Rights Law Journal and NLUO Students Journal were released



About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

On the occasion of Gandhi Jayanti ‘Jan sahabat padayatra’ has been started by Biju Janata Dal

Bhubaneswar:2/10/23:Today on account of Gandhi Jayanti ‘Jan sahabat padayatra’ has been started by Biju Janata Dal Odisha BJD President as well as Hon’ble Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik has inaugurated the ...