Home » 2018 » May

Monthly Archives: May 2018

Golden Jubilee award ceremony of five-decade-old Oriya film magazine Banichitra were presented


BHUBANESWAR:31/5/18 The Golden Jubilee award ceremony of  film and album awards for Oriya cinema and small screen instituted by the five-decade-old Oriya film magazine Banichitra were presented in a colourful ceremony at Rabindra Mandap on May 30 Eminient Director and Dialouge writer Bijoy Mishra was honored for his lifetime contribution to cinema,Mishra is the recipient of Sangeet Natak Akademi Tagore award ...

Read More »

BJD submits memorandum to Governor Protesting rise in fuel price


Bbhubaneswar:31/5/18;Protesting rise in fuel price and negligible relief to consumers in the last couple of days, senior leaders of ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today met the Governor of Odisha and submitted a memorandum to him addressed to the President of India demanding cut on excise duty levied on petrol and diesel by the Central government. The BJD delegation was ...

Read More »

Odisha Police won the special jury award for Community Policing at the FICCI Smart Policing Awards-2018


Bhubaneswar:31/5/18; The Odisha Police won the special jury award for Community Policing at the FICCI Smart Policing Awards-2018 held at New Delhi today. IPS officer Sarah Sharma received the award on the behalf of the state police from Vijay Goel, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and Statistics and Programme Implementation “This achievement is a result of series of programmes by the Odisha ...

Read More »

Justice Bijaya Kumar Nayak assumed the post of chairperson of the Odisha State Law Commission


Bhubaneswar:31/5/18; Justice Bijaya Kumar Nayak, a retired judge of the Orissa High Court, assumed the post of chairperson of the Odisha State Law Commission on Thursday. The Law Commission has been constituted to aid and advise in matters relating to legal reforms and framing of new laws. Jeeban Ballav Mishra, Law Department Additional Secretary, will be the secretary to the ...

Read More »

Odisha Chief Minister announced ‘Gopabandhu Sambadika Swasthya Bima Yojana’for working journalists


Bhubaneswar:31/5/18;Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik today announced ‘Gopabandhu Sambadika Swasthya Bima Yojana’ to provide health insurance cover of Rs 2 lakh for working journalists in the state. The programme will come into effect from 1 June, 2018. The state Government will provide the health cover to the working journalist along with up to five members of their families. They will ...

Read More »

During Ama Gaon AmaBikash session Naveen Patnaiksanctioned 761 development projects for 85 GPs worth ₹19.92 crore


Bhubaneswar:31/5/18;During AmaGaonAmaBikash session, Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik interacted with people from Baipariguda (Koraput), Digapahandi (Ganjam), Sinapali (Nuapada) and Nabarangpur (Nabarangpur) blocks. Speaking directly to the Chief Minister, the villagers brought up various suggestions for accelerating development in their area. Chief Minister then promptly sanctioned 761 development projects for 85 GPs worth ₹19.92 crore and directed officials to ensure timely ...

Read More »

Big setback to the ruling BJP: opposition parties appeared winning 11 bypolls


New Delhi31/5/18;: In a big setback to the ruling BJP, opposition parties today appeared winning 11 bypolls, limiting the saffron party and its allies to just three, out of four Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly seats across 11 states — riding high on strengthening non-BJP unity in run-up to the 2019 general elections. With prestige at stake in every single ...

Read More »

Congress became the single largest party in Meghalaya


Meghalaya:31/5/18;The opposition Congress on Thursday became the single largest party in Meghalaya after its candidate Miani D Shira won the bye-election from Ampati Assembly seat, vacated by her father Mukul Sangma early this year.“INC candidate Miani D Shira won by 3191 votes. She secured 14,259 votes against a total of 11,069 votes polled by NPP candidate Clement G Momin,” Chief ...

Read More »

Raksha Mantri inaugurates IAF Commanders’ Conference


Newdelhi:31/5/18;The First biannual IAF Commanders’ Conference of 2018 was inaugurated today by Hon’ble Raksha Mantri at Air Headquarters (Vayu Bhawan). Chief of the Air Staff, Air Chief Marshal BS Dhanoa PVSM AVSM YSM VM ADC, welcomed Hon’ble Raksha Mantri Smt Nirmala Sitharaman, Hon’ble Raksha Rajya Mantri Dr Subhash Bhamre and Defence Secretary Shri Sanjay Mitra. He introduced IAF Commanders to ...

Read More »

PM addresses Indian Community in Jakarta


Jakarta:31/5/18; The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, today addressed the Indian community in Jakarta. He spoke of the special ties between India and Indonesia, and recalled the Republic Day celebrations in New Delhi earlier this year, where leaders from 10 ASEAN nations, including Indonesia, were present. He noted that it is no coincidence that in 1950, the President of Indonesia ...

Read More »