Home » Literature » Sahitya Akademi Awards 2017 presented

Sahitya Akademi Awards 2017 presented

New Delhi:14/2/18; The Sahitya Akademi Awards 2017 were given away to writers from 23 languages here on12 th,February, Monday evening.

However, as a mark of protest against the murder of Haryana teenager Junaid Khan, who was killed in a train last June while returning home after Eid shopping, Malayalam writer KP Ramanunni gave away the award to his mother after taking Rs3 from the total prize money of Rs1 lakh.

Ramanunni said that the book for which he won the award is about communal harmony and said that Junaid was killed for no reason.

The family of Tamil poet Inquilab, awarded posthumously, who had earlier announced their refusal to accept the award also didn’t attend the award ceremony.

Jayanta Madhab Bora won the award in Assamese for his book Moriahola, Afsar Ahmed won the award in Bengali for his Sei Nikhonj Manushta and Rita Baro won the award in Bodo for Thwisam.

The award in Dogri went to Shiv Mehta for Banna, in English to Mamang Dai for her book The Black Hill, and in Gujarati to Urmi Ghanshyam Desai for herGujarati Vyakarana na Baso Varsha.

The award in Hindi went to Ramesh Kuntal Megh for Vishw Mithak, Sarit Sagar, in Kannada to TP Ashoka for Kathana Bharathi in Kashmiri to Autar Krishen Rahbar for his Yeli Parda Woth and in Konkani to Gajanan Raghunath Jog for Khand Ani Her Katha.

In Maithili, Udaya Narayan Singh ‘Nachiketa’ won for Jahalak Diary, Ramanunni in Malayalam for Daivathinte Pustakam, Rajen Toijamba in Manipuri for his Chahee Taret Khuntakpa, in Marathi to Shrikant Deshmukh for Bolave Te Amhi, and in Nepali to Bina Hangkhim for her book Kriti Vimarsh.

The award in Odia went to Gayatri Saraf for Etavatira Shilpi, in Punjabi to Nachhatar for Slow Down, in Rajasthani to Neeraj Daiya for Bina Hasalpai, in Sanskrit to Niranjan Mishra for his Gangaputravadanam, in Santhali to Bhujanga Tudu for his book Tahenan Tangi Re, and in Sindhi to Jagdish Lachhani for his Aachhende Laja Maraan.

T. Devipriya bagged the award in Telugu for Gaalirangu and the award in Urdu went to Mohammed Baig Ehsas for his book Dakhma.

Sahitya Akademi President Chandrashekhar Kambar presented the winners with a citation, a shawl and a cheque of Rs1 lakh.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Bhubaneswar:8/12/22:Hon’ble CM Sri Naveen Patnaik with Deputy High Commissioner of UK and Others at Naveen Niwas