Home » Literature » Chandrashekhara Kambara elected new president of Sahitya Akademi

Chandrashekhara Kambara elected new president of Sahitya Akademi


Newdelhi:13/2/18;Famous Kannada playwright, poet, novelist and Jnanpith award-winning writer Chandrashekhara Kambara was elected president of the Sahitya Akademi while hindi writer Madhav Kaushik, was elected vice president on Monday.

Mr Kambara won the election in a triangular contest between him, well-known Marathi writer Bhalchandra Nemade and Oriya writer Pratibha Ray. Like Mr Kambara, both are winners of Jnanpith Awards.

Mr Kambara got 56 out of total 89 votes while Prativa Ray get 29 vote .

Mr Kaushik has defeated Director of the Central Hindi Institute Nand Kishor Pandey. He got 58 out of 89 votes in the election of vice president.

Born on January 2, 1937 in Ghodageri,Belgaum district of Karnataka, Mr Kambara will replace the famous Hindi writer Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari whose tenure ended on December 31.

Mr Kambara has been the president of the National School of Drama.

He was awarded in 1983 with Sangeet Natak Akademi, Sahitya Academy in 1991, Padmashree in 2001, and Jnanpith Award in 2011.

In 2011, he was made fellow of the Sangeet Natak Akademi. He was also the founder Vice Chancellor of Kannada University in Hampi.

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

BJP announced Vishnu Deo Sai as the new Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh

Raipur, Dec 10: Ending the speculations, the BJP on Sunday announced Vishnu Deo Sai as the new Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh. This decision was taken during a meeting of the BJP ...