Home » National » President of India confer the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships and Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards: Ratikant Mohapatra from Odissha conferred for Odisi dance

President of India confer the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships and Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards: Ratikant Mohapatra from Odissha conferred for Odisi dance

Newdelhi:17/1/18;The Hon’ble President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind  confer the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships and Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for 2016 to an eminent group of musicians, dancers, and theatre artists  todayat Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi. This year, four eminent artists and scholars in the performing arts will be conferred Fellowships of the Akademi and 43 artists will receive the Akademi’s Awards.

The Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships (Akademi Ratna) and Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) are national honours bestowed by the Republic of India on performing artists as well as teachers and scholars in the field of performing arts. The recipients are selected by the Akademi’s General Council, consisting of musicians, dancers, theatre artists and scholars in these disciplines, and nominees of the Government of India and of the States and Union Territories of the India Union.

The four Fellowships (Akademi Ratna) this year will be conferred on Shri Arvind Parikh, Smt. R. Vedavalli, Shri Ram Gopal Bajaj and Shri Sunil Kothari. The Fellows receive a purse of three lakh rupees, an angavastram, and a tamrapatra. The artists to be honoured with the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for 2016 receive a purse of one lakh rupees, an angavastram, and a tamrapatra.

In the field of Music, eleven eminent artists received the Akademi’s Awards this year: Smt. Padma Talwalkar and Shri Prabhakar Karekar, Hindustani Vocal Music, Shri Arvind Mulgaonkar, Hindustani Instrumental Music -Tabla, Smt. Kala Ramnath, Hindustani Instrumental Music –Violin, Smt. Neela Ramgopal and Smt. K Omanakutty, Carnatic Vocal Music, Shri J Vaidhyanathan, Carnatic Instrumental Music – Mridangam, Shri Mysore M Manjunath, Carnatic Instrumental Music – Violin, Shri Ningthoujam Shyamchand Singh, Other Major Traditions Of Music – Nata Sankirtana, Manipur, Smt. Ratnamala Prakash, Other Major Traditions Of Music – Sugam Sangeet, Shri Ahmed Hussain & Mohd. Hussain, Other Major Traditions Of Music – Sugam Sangeet (Hussain Brothers) (Joint Award).

In the field of Dance, nine eminent artists received the Akademi Awards this year, Smt. Geeta Chandran for Bharatanatyam, Shri Jitendra Maharaj for Kathak, Shri Kalamandalam Ramachandran Unnithan for Kathakali, Shri Maisnam Kaminikumar Singh for Manipuri, Smt. A B Bala Kondala Rao for Kuchipudi, Shri Ratikant Mohapatra for Odissi, Shri Haricharan Bhuyan Borbayan for Sattriya, Shri Gopal Prasad Dubey for Chhau, Smt. Anita R Ratnam for Contemporary Dance.Ratikant Mohapatra for Odisi dedicated his honour to his father & Guru Sri Kelucharan Mohapatra.




In the field of Theatre, nine eminent artists received the Akademi Awards this year: Smt. Kusum Kumar for Playwriting, Shri Satyabrata Rout for Direction, Shri Bipin Kumar for Direction, Shri Rajkamal Nayak for Direction, Shri Gireesan V for Acting, Shri Oinam Biramangol Singh for Acting, Shri Mohan Joshi for Acting, Smt. Anjana Puri for Allied Theatre Arts – Music for Theatre, Shri K Govind Bhat for Other Major Traditions Of Theatre – Yakshgana

In the field of Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre and Puppetry, ten artistes received the Akademi Awards this year, Smt. Annabattula Lakshmi Mangatayaru And Smt. Leela Sai (Joint Award) Traditional Theatre (Kalavantulu) Andhra Pradesh, Shri Yogesh Gadhavi, Folk Music, Gujarat, Shri Vidyanand Saraik, Folk Music, Himachal Pradesh, Shri Somnath D Chari, Traditional Music, Goa, Shri Laxmidhar Raut, Pala, Odisha, Shri Chiranji Lal Tanwar, Mand, Rajasthan, Shri Gulzar Ahmad Ganie, Folk Music (Chakri), Jammu & Kashmir, Shri Braj Kishor Dubey, Folk Music, Bihar, Shri Prabhitangsu Das and Shri Dattatreya Aralikatte for Puppetry.

Pappu Venugopal Rao and Avinash Pasricha received the Akademi’s Award for their Overall Contribution/Scholarship in the Performing Arts.

The Fellowships and Awards ceremony for 2016 is followed by a festival of music, dance and drama scheduled from 18 to 21 January 2018, featuring Fellows and Award-winners of the year. The festival will be held at the Meghdoot Theatre Complex, Copernicus Marg and Mavalankar Hall, Rafi Marg from 18th January 2018 onwards



About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Check Also

CJI NV Ramana to arrive in Odisha on 2-day visit

Bhubaneswar, Sep 23: Chief Justice of India (CJI) NV Ramana will be on a 2-day visit to Odisha starting from Friday. During his visit, the CJI will offer prayer at ...