Home » District Diary » Chrome Valley Club Lifted 11th Kate Purty Inter-Village Football Tournament 2017 Cup

Chrome Valley Club Lifted 11th Kate Purty Inter-Village Football Tournament 2017 Cup

Sukinda, December 5, 2017: Chrome Valley Club lifted the 11th Kate Purty Inter-Village Football Tournament-2017 Cup today. The match was organised by Tata Steel’s Sukinda Chromite Mine where the winning team defeated Mahagiri and Mahagiri Club of Sukirungi village of Kaliapani Panchayat club by 1-0.Shri Priti Ranjan Gharai, Hon’ble MLA, Sukinda gave away trophies and cash awards to the winning and runner’s-up team at the Central Playground in Sukinda Chromite Mine (SCM) of Tata Steel in Jajpur district of Odisha.

Shri R R Satpathy, General Manager,  Operations, Ferro Alloys and Minerals Division, Tata Steel, Shri Rajesh Patel, Chief, Mining, Shri Harihar Barik, General Secretary and Shri K C Behera, President, SCM Workers’ Union were present on the occasion. The wining team received Rs 18,000 and the runner’s-up team were awarded a cash award of Rs 15,000.Complementing the initiative, Shri Gharai said initiatives like the match would provide an opportunity for young local footballers to hone their skills and showcase their talent.Shri Satpathy congratulated the participants and the winners and reiterated Tata Steel’s commitment for the inclusive growth of the region, particularly through promoting football in Sukinda.PRI members present on the occasion included Shri Biswajit Mohanty, Sarpanch, Ransol and Samiti Sabhy Shri Kesab Hesa, Kaliapani Sarapanch Smt Kalpna Jean, Samiti Sabhya Sangita Pradhan, Kaknkadpal Sarapanch Smt Sabita Mahanta and Samiti Sabya Smt Rashmi rekha Jena.





Sagar Tudu of Chrome Valley Club was awarded as the best goal keeper of the tournament while Biju Marandi of Nehru Club was declared as highest scorer, Ranjan Dehury of Mahagiri Club as best defender, Pankaj Dehury of Mahagiri Club as best half and Tusar Bahadur was adjudged as best emerging player of the tournament.Besides this, the eight players of Sukinda who were selected for Jajpur Football Team were also felicitated on the occasion.

Beginning November 8, 2017, this 24-day tournament witnessed brilliant performances by players of 34 teams, vying for the title. Teams from Ransol, Chingudipal, Kankarpal, Kaliapani panchayat of Sukinda block of Jajpur district and Raibol panchayat of Kankarahat block of Dhenkanal district took part in the 11th edition of this tournament.Named after Shri Kate Purty, the man who discovered chromite in Sukinda valley in 1949, the tournament is being organised for 10 years in a row. While reminding those present about Shri Purty’s contribution to the economy of the region, the tournament aims at giving a platform to local football talent to showcase their skills and promote sports.























About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

A new chapter has been added in urban development of Odisha

Bhubaneswar:29/2/2 4:Chief Minister Naveen Pattnaik dedicated, drinking water facilities for the city dwellers, drinking from taps, roads, sanitation, and various civic services have been provided to the residents along with ...