Home » Literature » Odisha Sahitya Akademi award ceremony will be held on 1st December

Odisha Sahitya Akademi award ceremony will be held on 1st December

Bhubaneswar:29/11/17; The Odisha Sahitya Akademi award ceremony will be held on 1st December at Rabindra Mandap at 11 am to felicitate the 24 litterateurs nominated in nine categories for the year 2013 and 2014.

Total 11 writers will get the prestigious award for 2014 while 13 have been nominated for 2013.

For 2013, Bibhuti Bhushan Pradhan will receive the award for his novel ‘Dheu’ while short story writer Diptiranjan Patnaik will receive the award for ‘Sandigdha Saisaba’ in short story category.

Similarly, Bimal Jena, Sucheta Mishra and Rakshak Nayak have been chosen in the poetry category for their literary works ‘Nibruta Nisada’, ‘Ajanma’ and ‘Asaranti Antakhyari,’ respectively.

Ramesh Dash will bag the coveted award for ‘Baram Nibas Bhala Ranakhetrare’ in drama category, while ‘Krushnachandra Pradhan’s essay ‘Odia Katha Kalpanara Diga O Diganta’ has been selected for the award.

Rasabihari Behera’s ‘Ananya Srusti Canada’ and Prabhati Mishra’s ‘Bhramaru Siksha’ have been nominated for the state’s top literary award in biography and travelogue categories, respectively.

Bijay Kumar Pradhan and Debendra Das have been selected in translation and lyrics categories for their works ‘Ajata Sundari O Anyanya Galpa’ and ‘Paduan Papuli,’ respectively. Books of Suryamani Samantray and Rabindranath Majhi, ‘Ting Kudukudu Tiki Chadhei’ and ‘Nila Thekua,’ respectively have been chosen for the award in children’s literature section.

For 2014, 11 writers will be awarded in all nine categories. Indira Dash, Abhaya Barik, Bijay Kumar Nanda and Aravind Patnaik have been selected for the award in novel, short story, drama and essay categories for their works ‘Nirbana Abhisara’, ‘Mahagana’, ‘Nataka Sanghraha’ and ‘Odishare Lokadharmara Parampara,’respectively.

Similarly, the Akademi named Bipin Nayak and Basudev Sunani for the award in poetry segment for their book ‘Swarachitra’, and ‘Bodhue Bhala Paiba Mote Jananahi’ respectively. Similarly, book ‘Abhijatrika-2′ of Priyabrat Patra and ‘Paschima Odishara Baraputra’ of Ganeshram Nahaka have been selected for the award in the biography & travelogue segment.

Subhas Satpathy, Basant Kishora Sahoo and Hrudananda Panigrahi will get the award in translation, children’s literature and lyrics categories, respectively for 2014.


About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

South Eastern Coalfield Limited’s Gevra Mine Set to Become The Largest Coal Mine in Asia

Newdelhi:5/3/24:Chhattisgarh-based Coal India subsidiary South Eastern Coalfield Limited’s Gevra mine is set to become the largest coal mine in Asia. The mine has been granted environmental clearance to expand production ...