Home » Odia Cinema » Veteran singer Pranab Patnaik will receive the prestigious Jayadev Award

Veteran singer Pranab Patnaik will receive the prestigious Jayadev Award

Bhubaneswar: 27/11/17:The 28th Odisha State Film Awards, to be conferred by the Department of Culture of the Government of Odisha, were announced today.

Veteran singer Pranab Patnaik will receive the prestigious Jayadev Puraskar, lifetime achievement award for contribution to the Odia film industry.

Pranab Patnaik is one of the best singers of Odia music industry, who has dominated the industry for more than five decades. Born on January 20, 1938, Pranab Patnaik was highly inspired by his father Late Lal Mohan Patnaik (Ex-speaker of Odisha Legislative Assembly). He has lent voice to various segments of music like Odishi, Folk, Devotional & Bhajans, Semi Classical, Traditional, Hindi Geet and Ghazal etc. Under Guru Kunal Adinarayan’s training he stepped formally into music industry. In 1958, he started his music career as a playback singer for the first time in film “Maa”.

He had the opportunity to sing with renowned singers like Hemlata, Vani Jayram, S. Janki, P.Sushila, Nirmal Mishra, Bhupinder Singh, Usha Mangeshkar and Haimayanti Sukla and to name a few. He is the only Odia playback singer who has been entitled with “Best Playback Singer Award” by Government of Odisha for seven times. His songs have wide vocal rendering and his unique style is unparalleled. His songs make the audience comprehend the supreme elements of the ultimate creation.

He has rendered his voice in more than 200 Odia films under the banner of almost all the music directors of Odisha and outside.

Here we give the Previolus year Jayadev award winner:

-Kabiraj Krushna Chandra Tripathy, Producer & Utkal Chalachitra Pratisthana (1981)

2-Nitai Palit, Producer and Director (1982)

3-Samuel Sahu, Actor (1984)

4-Sarat Pujhari, Actor and Director (1985)

5-Govind Tej, Actor and Director (1986)

6-BalKrushna Dash, Music Director (1987)

7-Parvati Ghosh, Actress and First Women Director of Odisha (1988)

8-Bhubaneswar Mishra, Music Director (1989)

9-Priyanath Mishra (Pira), Actor (1990)

10- Hemant Das, Actor (1991)

11-Smt Gloria Mohanty, Actress (1992)

12-Bymokesh Tripathy, Actor and Director (1993)

13- Dukhiram Swain, Actor (posthumous) (1994)

14-Sujata Anand, Actress (Posthumous) (1995)

15-Akshya Mohanty, Music  Director (1996)

16-Smt Jharana Das, Acting (1997)

17-Prasant Nanda, Acting & Direction (1998)

18-Uttam Mohanty, Acting (1999)

19-Manimala Devi, Acting (2000)

20-Manmohan Mohapatra, Direction (2001)

21-Basant Nayak, Producer (2002)

22-Bhanumati Devi, Actor (20003)

23-Prafulla Kar, Music Director (2004)

24-Sisir Mishra, Director (2005)

25-Surendra Sahoo, Cinematographer (2006)

26-Ramchandra Prathari, Acting (2007)

27- Sadhu Meher, Director and Actor (2008)

28-Mahasweta Ray, Actor (2009)

29-Apruba Kishore Bir, Director and Camera Man (2010)

30-Sriram Panda(2011)

31-Raju Misra(2012)

32-Sarada Prasana Nayak(2013)

33-Bijya Mohanty(2014)

33-Ashok swain(2015)

34-Pranab Pattnaik(2016)


About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Odisha Chief Minister urged the Centre to withdraw GST being imposed on kendu leaf trade

Bhubaneswar26/11/22: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Saturday urged the Centre to withdraw GST being imposed on kendu leaf trade in the interest of the livelihoods of about eight lakh poor people. ...