Home » Smartcity Bhubaneswar » Second edition of Kiah Fashion Show source of inspiration for the society

Second edition of Kiah Fashion Show source of inspiration for the society

Bhubaneswar:14/11/17;The second edition of Kiah Fashion Show organised by Parichay Foundation stood out for more than one reasons. For the first time, acid attack survivors from all over the country came to the state of Odisha, to be a part of a fashion show for a cause.

The survivors, each of whom is a source of inspiration for the society, walked the ramp to raise funds for the education of drop-out girls from underprivileged families as part of the Alaknanda Scholarship Programme, Parichay’s flagship project. The eight survivors including PramodiniRoul who belongs to Odisha currently work in Sheroes Café, (Agra and Lucknow), which is managed by Delhi-based Chhanv Foundation.

Walking confidently on the ramp, the survivors were delighted to be a part of such a noble cause. Eminent men and women personalities from Odisha, also walked the ramp with them, saluting their fighter spirit while also promoting the cause of girl child education. The list included


parichya13300 (3)


Bollywood actress Tisca Chopra, who was the star attraction, also walked the ramp with the survivors. “I am so happy that Parichay Foundation, its founder SmtRosalinPatsani Mishra and the entire team has organised a fashion show with such a noble cause. I can only salute the courage and fighting spirit of these survivors and hope that this fashion show does help Parichayget connected with more well-wishers and donors who can come forward to support the cause of girl child education.”


parichya13300 (2)

The Alaknanda Scholarship Project was launched last year on November 14 as a flagship project of Parichay on the occasion of the first edition of Kiah Fashion Show, wherein slum girls adopted by Parichay had walked the ramp.

While the first batch of 59 girlsunder the project have already appeared their exams and awaiting the results, the foundation has identified another 60 girls from the same region for the second phase.

Founder, ParichayRosalinPatsani Mishra said, “We have completed 10 years now and I still feel it’s just the beginning. I want to thank everyone who has helped to make this programme such a big success, particularly the acid attack survivors. I am very much touched by the support the foundation has received from them for this scholarship project. For me the biggest happiness comes from the fact that because of Parichay, drop-out girl students from financially weak families are being educated and are able to feel a significant positive difference in their lives.”



About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Tata Steel Meramandali Announces Third Edition of Run-a-thon with the theme: Run For A Greener Planet

 To be organised in partnership with Dhenkanal District Administration A sapling to be planted for each registration 20 awards worth Rs 4.2 lakhs to be awarded 3500 run enthusiasts to ...