Newdelhi:2/11/17;The Press Council of India has today announced the winners of National Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2017. They shall be honoured on National Press Day November 16, 2017, at Vigyan Bhawan. Shri Sam Rajappa and Shri Sarat Mishra, Eminent Journalists, have been jointly designated awardee in the category „Raja Ram Mohan Roy Award‟ for their outstanding contributions towards Journalism and will be venerated with cititation. Ms Shalini Nair, Sr. Assistant Editor, National Bureau, The Indian Express, Delhi, has been chosen for the award of “Rural Journalism & Developmental Reporting‟. Shri K. Sujith, Sr. Reporter. Mangalam Daily, Kannur and Ms Chitrangada Choudhury, Freelancer, Odisha, have been jointly selected in the category of „Investigative Journalism’. Shri C.K. Thanseer, News Photographer, Chandrika Daily, Calicut, Kerala, and Shri Vijay Verma, Principal Photo Journalist, Press Trust of India, New Delhi, are jointly selected in the category of Photo Journalism- Single News Picture, and Shri J.Suresh, Chief Photographer, Malayala Manorama, has been selected in the category of Photo Journalism – Photo Feature. Shri Gireesh Kumar MP, Times of India, Kochi, Kerala, has been selected for the award in the category of Best Newspapers Art: covering cartoons, caricatures and illustrations. The Press Council of India, as the only statutory authority entrusted with the responsibility of encouraging the media to pursue its duties following the dictum of “freedom with responsibility”instituted these awards in the year 2012 to encourage journalists/photojournalists/freelancers excelling in print journalism. The awardees will be honoured on November 16, 2017, by the Press Council of India on the occasion of the National Press Day Celebration. The selection of the awardees was carried out by a Jury comprising of eminent working journalists and Senior editors representing print media S/Shri Kundan Raman Lal Vyas (Convenor), Sondeep Shankar, Prabhat Dash, C.K. Nayak, Ravindra Kumar, Dr Suman Gupta as member of the Press Council of India (PCI) and Dr Mrinal Chatterjee, Principal & Head of Institute, IIMC, Dhenkanal as external jury membe


About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Bhubaneswar:8/12/22:Hon’ble CM Sri Naveen Patnaik with Deputy High Commissioner of UK and Others at Naveen Niwas