Home » District Diary » Naveen Patnaik appointed chairpersons of Special Development Councils

Naveen Patnaik appointed chairpersons of Special Development Councils

Bhubaneswar:4/10/17: In a significant move, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today appointed chairpersons of Special Development Councils (SDC) of four tribal dominated districts.

Antaryami Gomango was appointed Chairman of SDC in Gajapati district, Santosh Amat have been entitled as the chairman of the SDC in Sundargarh district.

While Jagannath Nendruka was given the charge of chairperson of SDC in Rayagada district, Dr Devasish Marandi have been appointed as the chairman of SDC in Mayurbhanj district.

Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Sundargarh, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri and Nabarangapur are the nine districts, where the tribals comprise more than 50 per cent of the total population of the districts, will have the councils.

Earlier, the state government had nominated Kumulu Jani S/O late Guru Jani of Village – Bijapur of Koraput District, as the chairperson for the special development council, Koraput.

The Council’s major objectivess would be the Conservation and propagation of tribal culture, recognition of indigenous knowledge system of the tribals, documentation of tribal culture, tradition and practices, identification of tribal resources, organizing exposure visit, promotion of tribal language and dialects, area/culture specific development interventions, said the official notification.

The state government would provide Rs 1.5 crore as grant-in-aid to each block of the nine districts which is over and above the funds allotted under different schemes. A total of Rs 175.50 crores will be spent per annum through these councils.

Headquarters of the each of the special development council shall be at the district headquarters.

Each council will have a chairperson who is a luminary person of tribal community resident of the district to be nominated by the state government. Chairperson of the council will be given status of a minister of state. Besides, it will have a vice-chairperson and three members from among the tribal communities. Collector of the district would be the chief executive officer of the council.

Except the district collector, other members of the council shall hold office for a term of two years.


About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Srabani Nanda was awarded cash prizes to the tune of Rs 9.40 lakh for her outstanding performance in the 37th National Games 2023

Bhubaneswar:2/12/23: Athlete Srabani Nanda was today awarded cash prizes to the tune of Rs 9.40 lakh by the Sports and Youth Services Department for her outstanding performance in the 37th ...